cowboysfan Posted July 12, 2018 Posted July 12, 2018 9 hours ago, coffee_rules said: It was for test cricket, now he's certain to be picked for 2019. So lucky that Biryani failed to yo-yo, Manish out of touch, Kedar too old, KKD a bat wickie will never get picked over Dhoni.Raina gets picked in 16 and now in 11 also. 6th bowling doing wonders for his selection. He is a handy bat at #6, great fielder, safest catcher. I will not complain, far far better than picking Yuvraj. Krinal would have been a better pick, but too late for 2019 to be picked now. what options do we have.we need somebody to bowl part time when Hardick messes up which is quite frequent.I dont see options right now expect maybe Sundar and they are not going to play him in WC19.
Sooda Posted July 12, 2018 Posted July 12, 2018 The other 3 hours ago, rkt.india said: But pant cant bowl. So, only Krunal can replace him or some other batsman who can bowl, preferably a spinner. Nitish Rana bowls his offies well too and we do need some one who can bowl off spin. Pant can only replace Dhoni and it will happen only after 2019 WC. Deepak Hooda too potentially. Good batsman and can bowl a bit of offspin
flamy Posted July 12, 2018 Posted July 12, 2018 Krunal, for sure. But, the dude Raina has gotten fitter, but his fielding's dropped a little. He needs to show up with a big 70 to really make his case. I'd go for Krunal, though. That feller's got the game to win tight situations, I just trust him more. SK_IH 1
rahulrulezz Posted July 12, 2018 Posted July 12, 2018 Even though I would prefer Krunal or Krishna gowthan(the scary hitter of Rajasthan Royals) over Raina, I still like Raina as he is a team player and would never play selfishly. He is a match winner and can win games on his own. Miles better than the selfish likes of Jadeja, Rahane and Pandey
Vk1 Posted July 13, 2018 Posted July 13, 2018 3 minutes ago, rahulrulezz said: Even though I would prefer Krunal or Krishna gowthan(the scary hitter of Rajasthan Royals) over Raina, I still like Raina as he is a team player and would never play selfishly. He is a match winner and can win games on his own. Miles better than the selfish likes of Jadeja, Rahane and Pandey Match winner ? before 2012 ? Remember good teams bring good fast bowlers when he is batting. I agree that krunal or even Krishnappa are better options.
coffee_rules Posted July 13, 2018 Author Posted July 13, 2018 2 hours ago, cowboysfan said: what options do we have.we need somebody to bowl part time when Hardick messes up which is quite frequent.I dont see options right now expect maybe Sundar and they are not going to play him in WC19. we take 5 bowlers and also looking for 6th partime, when does it stop. ?
raki05 Posted July 13, 2018 Posted July 13, 2018 10 hours ago, wanted_desi said: What i don't understand is that since Raina was not in original squad, why does he get preference over someone like Iyer who made to squad on merit, not based on someone getting Injured? And then they say that there is no csk quota selection. How come this guy able to break in to odi team.
Deleted_User_1 Posted July 13, 2018 Posted July 13, 2018 11 hours ago, coffee_rules said: Since Hardik gets hit so often in ODIs is the reason we need another spin bowling allrounder. Raina is backward, but we wasted 4 years trying ot Kedar, Pandey etc. Pandey was broken by picking Yuvraj for couple of series and I am glad that has stopped. Meanwhile there is no other that was developed, we are back to Project Raina. Arre Sirji ko lao, bowling awll-rounder!!!
Cricket_Fan Posted July 13, 2018 Posted July 13, 2018 1 hour ago, Vk1 said: Match winner ? before 2012 ? Remember good teams bring good fast bowlers when he is batting. I agree that krunal or even Krishnappa are better options. Won us the 2015 WC match against Pakistan.
rkt.india Posted July 13, 2018 Posted July 13, 2018 5 hours ago, Sooda said: The other Deepak Hooda too potentially. Good batsman and can bowl a bit of offspin Hooda needs to show more with the bat. He is still not reached that point of potential where he can become match winner with the bat. We need to pick match winners and not just fillers. I like Hooda but he just isn't good enough yet that he can bat at 6 at high strike rates.
Pollack Posted July 13, 2018 Posted July 13, 2018 8 hours ago, rahulrulezz said: Even though I would prefer Krunal or Krishna gowthan(the scary hitter of Rajasthan Royals) over Raina, I still like Raina as he is a team player and would never play selfishly. He is a match winner and can win games on his own. Miles better than the selfish likes of Jadeja, Rahane and Pandey Rahane isn't selfish. He tries hard to score fast when required but just does not have the ability. express bowling 1
Ankit_sharma03 Posted July 13, 2018 Posted July 13, 2018 9 hours ago, flamy said: Krunal, for sure. But, the dude Raina has gotten fitter, but his fielding's dropped a little. He needs to show up with a big 70 to really make his case. I'd go for Krunal, though. That feller's got the game to win tight situations, I just trust him more. He might even against this toothless ENg attack but then u knw he is a walking wkt against teams with quality pace attack 10 hours ago, Sooda said: The other Deepak Hooda too potentially. Good batsman and can bowl a bit of offspin Hooda isnt grabbing his Opp, neither in IPL neither on A-tour 7 hours ago, raki05 said: And then they say that there is no csk quota selection. How come this guy able to break in to odi team. Like yuvraj, bhajji, gauti did ........neither was from CSK Kohli loves old experienced player YUvi did decent in IPL, kohli needed a no .4 .......hence he was called Bhajji did well in IPL, kohli thought champion is back n i need one more offie in lanka he was back Raina had a decent IPL n was in team in t20, jadhav injured........need someone who can give few overs ....bat quickly and most importantly has experience so raina was back How hard is to understand ho kohli's brain works. How do u think dhawan n rohit keeps popping in test team...they score runs kohli thinks their issues are solved and they are back . Thank god Zak n veeru have retired or they wud have been back to Forever Indian 1
Lala Posted July 13, 2018 Posted July 13, 2018 Raina's time is over. He has been given many chances to rectify his weak batting specially pull shot against short ball. Still he is weak against bouncers.
raki05 Posted July 13, 2018 Posted July 13, 2018 5 hours ago, Ankit_sharma03 said: He might even against this toothless ENg attack but then u knw he is a walking wkt against teams with quality pace attack Hooda isnt grabbing his Opp, neither in IPL neither on A-tour Like yuvraj, bhajji, gauti did ........neither was from CSK Kohli loves old experienced player YUvi did decent in IPL, kohli needed a no .4 .......hence he was called Bhajji did well in IPL, kohli thought champion is back n i need one more offie in lanka he was back Raina had a decent IPL n was in team in t20, jadhav injured........need someone who can give few overs ....bat quickly and most importantly has experience so raina was back How hard is to understand ho kohli's brain works. How do u think dhawan n rohit keeps popping in test team...they score runs kohli thinks their issues are solved and they are back . Thank god Zak n veeru have retired or they wud have been back to gauti performed in domestic and he got selected in test. What did Raina did in first class. How come his selection in odi justified. UrmiSinhaRay 1
SUMO Posted July 13, 2018 Posted July 13, 2018 If you want to try out someone to replace raina then it must be either deepak hooda/abhishek sharma. Please no : krunal(T20 hack...need better batsman at 5), jadhav(bowls ok but raina better bat and fielder), manish(slow batter cant bowl), Iyer(good bat but cant bowl), DK(currently in the form of his life but can't bowl) Don't think current selectors have guts to bypass these domestic stalwarts so I am better off with an experienced raina for 2019.
Ankit_sharma03 Posted July 13, 2018 Posted July 13, 2018 (edited) 3 hours ago, raki05 said: gauti performed in domestic and he got selected in test. What did Raina did in first class. How come his selection in odi justified. he got selected in t20 1st and then had a decent IPL Even bhajji came to test team on basis of IPL, yuvraj comeback was also on IPL M not justifying raina selection but reasonw as same kohli loves experienced player, bhajji n yuvi were not CSK players Edited July 13, 2018 by Ankit_sharma03 UrmiSinhaRay 1
SandeepMotta Posted July 14, 2018 Posted July 14, 2018 Looks like Dhoni and raina's daughters are best friends, no wonder Raina is back in the team without doing much to deserve it. UrmiSinhaRay 1
chewy Posted July 14, 2018 Posted July 14, 2018 (edited) More like Project f e c k. Up Now this guy struggling vs spinners Edited July 14, 2018 by chewy UrmiSinhaRay 1