coffee_rules Posted July 12, 2018 Posted July 12, 2018 (edited) It was for test cricket, now he's certain to be picked for 2019. So lucky that Biryani failed to yo-yo, Manish out of touch, Kedar too old, KKD a bat wickie will never get picked over Dhoni.Raina gets picked in 16 and now in 11 also. 6th bowling doing wonders for his selection. He is a handy bat at #6, great fielder, safest catcher. I will not complain, far far better than picking Yuvraj. Krinal would have been a better pick, but too late for 2019 to be picked now. Edited July 12, 2018 by coffee_rules Sandeep99, beetle and UrmiSinhaRay 1 2
Sandeep99 Posted July 12, 2018 Posted July 12, 2018 Such a regressive selection.. just when you think we're moving forward, the champion and his chamchas are present in full force SK_IH, Ironhide, UrmiSinhaRay and 2 others 1 4
coffee_rules Posted July 12, 2018 Author Posted July 12, 2018 Since Hardik gets hit so often in ODIs is the reason we need another spin bowling allrounder. Raina is backward, but we wasted 4 years trying ot Kedar, Pandey etc. Pandey was broken by picking Yuvraj for couple of series and I am glad that has stopped. Meanwhile there is no other that was developed, we are back to Project Raina. UrmiSinhaRay 1
wanted_desi Posted July 12, 2018 Posted July 12, 2018 What i don't understand is that since Raina was not in original squad, why does he get preference over someone like Iyer who made to squad on merit, not based on someone getting Injured? UrmiSinhaRay 1
SandeepMotta Posted July 12, 2018 Posted July 12, 2018 Test comeback next. UrmiSinhaRay, express bowling, coffee_rules and 1 other 1 2 1
coffee_rules Posted July 12, 2018 Author Posted July 12, 2018 10 minutes ago, wanted_desi said: What i don't understand is that since Raina was not in original squad, why does he get preference over someone like Iyer who made to squad on merit, not based on someone getting Injured? Since 5 bowlers is not enough, we need a 6th option just in case. I don't know where it ends, no specialists, but BNPs all over the team (BNPs - Bits 'n Pieces)
PSB_Zone Posted July 12, 2018 Posted July 12, 2018 (edited) He being left hander also goes for him plus all the abv mentioned points. Edited July 12, 2018 by PSB_Zone
sandeep Posted July 12, 2018 Posted July 12, 2018 1 hour ago, wanted_desi said: What i don't understand is that since Raina was not in original squad, why does he get preference over someone like Iyer who made to squad on merit, not based on someone getting Injured? Because Iyer doesn't bowl Iyer isn't left-handed. I also agree that Raina is a step backward, and he's quite exposed against the short stuff. But with Kedar injured, Krunal Pandya not 'made' it yet, its slim pickings for a left-hand batsman who can bowl a few overs.
SK_IH Posted July 12, 2018 Posted July 12, 2018 9 minutes ago, PSB_Zone said: He being left hander also goes for him plus all the abv mentioned points. Rishab Pant or Krunal can be tried instead of this has been
Ankit_sharma03 Posted July 12, 2018 Posted July 12, 2018 SA ne dhoka diya, Had rabadda n Morkel played in t20....chapter wahi close tha SK_IH 1
Bigg Brother Posted July 12, 2018 Posted July 12, 2018 (edited) The guy wasn't even 15 member squad,and now being picked over a player who is playing regularly for last few series. Edited July 12, 2018 by Bigg Brother
Laaloo Posted July 12, 2018 Posted July 12, 2018 Just now, Number said: So project Raina is like Aatma. Because dhoni is paramaatma express bowling, raki05, sarcastic and 2 others 5
mancalledsting Posted July 12, 2018 Posted July 12, 2018 (edited) 50 minutes ago, SK_IH said: Rishab Pant or Krunal can be tried instead of this has been good shout.Raina's main strength is his ability to hit the ball from ball one- a necessity if you want to bat lower down the order. Pant has the same ability but he is not quite as suspect vs the short ball. Edited July 12, 2018 by mancalledsting Vilander 1
Vilander Posted July 12, 2018 Posted July 12, 2018 3 minutes ago, mancalledsting said: good shout.Raina's main strength is his ability to hit the ball from ball one. Pant has the same ability but he is not quite as suspect vs the short ball. pant could be a good replacement for Raina actually. mancalledsting 1
rkt.india Posted July 12, 2018 Posted July 12, 2018 (edited) 7 minutes ago, Vilander said: pant could be a good replacement for Raina actually. But pant cant bowl. So, only Krunal can replace him or some other batsman who can bowl, preferably a spinner. Nitish Rana bowls his offies well too and we do need some one who can bowl off spin. Pant can only replace Dhoni and it will happen only after 2019 WC. Edited July 12, 2018 by rkt.india flamy and coffee_rules 2
Vilander Posted July 12, 2018 Posted July 12, 2018 59 minutes ago, rkt.india said: But pant cant bowl. So, only Krunal can replace him or some other batsman who can bowl, preferably a spinner. Nitish Rana bowls his offies well too and we do need some one who can bowl off spin. Pant can only replace Dhoni and it will happen only after 2019 WC. i think Rainas bowling is over rated...poms suck against spin..so we should not extrapolate his quite overs against them.. in terms of batting impact Pant can be the pre being found off short balls Raina.
jalebi_bhai Posted July 12, 2018 Posted July 12, 2018 Project Raina was decommissioned only in Tests. He was still on the radar in LOIs. I'd take him over Pandey any day of the week. It's a choice between Raina or Jadhav tbh.
Sec19 Posted July 12, 2018 Posted July 12, 2018 If selectors can take hard decisions then they shld nurture Abhishek Sharma.He can bowl decently and is a very good slip fielder.He can acclerate as well.Raiba too looks to be the safest slip fielder in this odi team. express bowling 1
kohli Posted July 12, 2018 Posted July 12, 2018 7 hours ago, wanted_desi said: What i don't understand is that since Raina was not in original squad, why does he get preference over someone like Iyer who made to squad on merit, not based on someone getting Injured? Rahul take iyer place,Raina came for jadhav position