ganeshran Posted March 4, 2020 Posted March 4, 2020 Italian football today announced that all football matches will be played behind closed doors. Other sporting events and tech conferences are being cancelled too. India has 20 odd cases now but if the the virus spreads, it could have an impact on the tournament. BCCI should have a contingency plan ready. Perhaps cancel Asia cup and one more bilateral series and hold ipl in its place
maniac Posted March 4, 2020 Posted March 4, 2020 Cricket scheduling is the last thing to worry about in case of an epidemic breakout. In country like Italy maybe football games might be the only cause of concern for gathering of large groups but in India how are you going to prevent the crowded local trains, buses and all the other crowds we get for every damn thing. Yes measures need to be taken but at a higher level. AuxiliA 1
Khota Posted March 5, 2020 Posted March 5, 2020 (edited) Coronavirus should retreat in warm weather. Maybe everything will be fine. Need to wait and see as some experts feel it may linger and not retreat. Edited March 5, 2020 by Khota beetle 1
Deleted_User_1 Posted March 5, 2020 Posted March 5, 2020 Is bahane I PEE L ko iss saal bandhh karo, bandhh karo! nevada 1
beetle Posted March 5, 2020 Posted March 5, 2020 We need the summer to arrive fast. Rise in temp will help our case.
Popular Post Gollum Posted March 5, 2020 Popular Post Posted March 5, 2020 Bhai this is India, you think cancelling some cricket matches will make us safer? Jimmy Cliff, SRT100, Laaloo and 8 others 10 1
rkt.india Posted March 5, 2020 Posted March 5, 2020 Virus can't tolerate temp more than 27 degrees. There is already temp more than that in more than half the India. While UK is still far away from their summer.
R!TTER Posted March 5, 2020 Posted March 5, 2020 (edited) 8 hours ago, Khota said: Coronavirus should retreat in warm weather. Maybe everything will be fine. Need to wait and see as some experts feel it may linger and not retreat. Since this is a new mutated(?) strain we have no idea if the same rules apply here as well. Any flu strain though is vulnerable to heat, some more than others. Also not to be a major downer, the last influenza epidemic more than a century back got real worse over autumn or fall so beware! World War I claimed an estimated 16 million lives. The influenza epidemic that swept the world in 1918 killed an estimated 50 million people. One fifth of the world's population was attacked by this deadly virus. Within months, it had killed more people than any other illness in recorded history. The plague emerged in two phases. In late spring of 1918, the first phase, known as the "three-day fever," appeared without warning. Few deaths were reported. Victims recovered after a few days. When the disease surfaced again that fall, it was far more severe. Scientists, doctors, and health officials could not identify this disease which was striking so fast and so viciously, eluding treatment and defying control. Some victims died within hours of their first symptoms. Others succumbed after a few days; their lungs filled with fluid and they suffocated to death. The plague did not discriminate. It was rampant in urban and rural areas, from the densely populated East coast to the remotest parts of Alaska. Young adults, usually unaffected by these types of infectious diseases, were among the hardest hit groups along with the elderly and young children. The flu afflicted over 25 percent of the U.S. population. In one year, the average life expectancy in the United States dropped by 12 years. Edited March 5, 2020 by R!TTER
ganeshran Posted March 5, 2020 Author Posted March 5, 2020 10 hours ago, maniac said: Cricket scheduling is the last thing to worry about in case of an epidemic breakout. In country like Italy maybe football games might be the only cause of concern for gathering of large groups but in India how are you going to prevent the crowded local trains, buses and all the other crowds we get for every damn thing. Yes measures need to be taken but at a higher level. True, I am not saying cancelling games would be the only measure but it will just be a part of a wider range of precautions that the government might have to take.
ganeshran Posted March 5, 2020 Author Posted March 5, 2020 4 hours ago, rkt.india said: Virus can't tolerate temp more than 27 degrees. There is already temp more than that in more than half the India. While UK is still far away from their summer. 5 hours ago, beetle said: We need the summer to arrive fast. Rise in temp will help our case. WHO said the other day that there is no evidence yet that this virus is impacted by rise in temperature. SRT100 1
R!TTER Posted March 5, 2020 Posted March 5, 2020 (edited) 2 hours ago, ganeshran said: WHO said the other day that there is no evidence yet that this virus is impacted by rise in temperature. Yup, we need meds & vaccine for this fast. Because if it goes the way of the last epidemic, it can dwarf all the casualties from the last century Oh & just an FYI the fatality rate is at least 20x higher than the mild(er) flu strains Edited March 5, 2020 by R!TTER
nevada Posted March 5, 2020 Posted March 5, 2020 8 hours ago, Gollum said: Bhai this is India, you think cancelling some cricket matches will make us safer? Sab kuch Ram Bharose chalta hai India mein Gollum, rollingstoned and kubrickian 3
Mariyam Posted March 5, 2020 Posted March 5, 2020 8 hours ago, rkt.india said: Virus can't tolerate temp more than 27 degrees. There is already temp more than that in more than half the India. While UK is still far away from their summer. Virus hai ki Aalia Bhatt? nevada and Scar 2
Zero_Unit Posted March 5, 2020 Posted March 5, 2020 12 hours ago, Khota said: Coronavirus should retreat in warm weather. Maybe everything will be fine. Need to wait and see as some experts feel it may linger and not retreat. Recently read that places like Senegal caught the virus. Should be pretty hot there, no? nevada 1
Mariyam Posted March 5, 2020 Posted March 5, 2020 3 hours ago, ganeshran said: WHO said the other day that there is no evidence yet that this virus is impacted by rise in temperature. Who is WHO? WHO ki kya majaal. ICF is an expert on every topic under the sun. Corona Virus, Genetics, Religion, History, Almonds, Coaching the Indian team, Law, Politics, Bollywood and sometimes cricket. nevada, Sgattick10, Stan AF and 4 others 7
Khota Posted March 5, 2020 Posted March 5, 2020 4 hours ago, R!TTER said: Since this is a new mutated(?) strain we have no idea if the same rules apply here as well. Any flu strain though is vulnerable to heat, some more than others. Also not to be a major downer, the last influenza epidemic more than a century back got real worse over autumn or fall so beware! That is correct as no one knows what will this virus do in summer but as a thumb rule they do not like warm and humid weather.
Khota Posted March 5, 2020 Posted March 5, 2020 (edited) 26 minutes ago, Zero_Unit said: Recently read that places like Senegal caught the virus. Should be pretty hot there, no? R0 of this virus is close to 2.2 whereas typical flu is close to 1.x, so there will be a spread. How much I dont know as I am not an epidimeologist. (In short 1 person can spread it to 2.2 persons) Edited March 5, 2020 by Khota nevada 1
Zero_Unit Posted March 5, 2020 Posted March 5, 2020 1 hour ago, Khota said: R0 of this virus is close to 2.2 whereas typical flu is close to 1.x, so there will be a spread. How much I dont know as I am not an epidimeologist. (In short 1 person can spread it to 2.2 persons) That's a pretty bad ratio. No wonder it's spreading fast
YCCC Posted March 5, 2020 Posted March 5, 2020 (edited) Think we can expect every sports event, in fact any kind of event to be cancelled until this thing is contained which could take a year at least. Might as well write off 2020 and maybe a lot of 2021 now folks. I’ll say it again * the Chinese. Might sound prejudice but I don’t care. I’m angry right now Edited March 5, 2020 by YCCC Unstable Joe 1