Vihari

Pant

Ashwin

Thakur

Siraj

Bumrah

Ishant

I'll drop shami ,he looks tired ,Ishant in just for the bounce at oval 

Ishant ko ghanta bounce milt hai. Headingley me dekh kitna bounce mila Robinson and Ishant ko. Same height but bounce me zameen-aasman ka fark tha. Prasidh will get more bounce than Ishant.

4 hours ago, rkt.india said:

Ishant ko ghanta bounce milt hai. Headingley me dekh kitna bounce mila Robinson and Ishant ko. Same height but bounce me zameen-aasman ka fark tha. Prasidh will get more bounce than Ishant.

I am telling you Ishant will turn the tables this time around ,just a hunch .Will play him over shami for this match 

11 hours ago, adi B said:

Raul 

Rohit

Pujara

Kohli

Vihari

Pant

Ashwin

Thakur

Siraj

Bumrah

Ishant

I'll drop shami ,he looks tired ,Ishant in just for the bounce at oval 

Bhai I admire your views on cricket on this forum, but this is an unbearable view on Ishant :sick:, please hame maaf kardo

Merge this with pre-match discussion thread. 

42 minutes ago, adkrish22290 said:

Rohit

KL

Pujara

Virat (c)

Sky

Vihari

Pant (wk)

Shardul

Shami

Bumrah

Siraj

Ideal if Ashwin is injured. Having  #2 ranked bowler in the bench is criminal. Jadeja should bat up over Pant if he is selected. 

Vihari can bowl, but not a winner like Ashwin. 

58 minutes ago, SK_IH said:

Bhai I admire your views on cricket on this forum, but this is an unbearable view on Ishant :sick:, please hame maaf kardo

Bro I think I have been stung by the "maniac"virus and hence my support for Ishant for this match, I am backing him to back a punch !

1 hour ago, adkrish22290 said:

Rohit

KL

Pujara

Virat (c)

Sky

Vihari

Pant (wk)

Shardul

Shami

Bumrah

Siraj

Approved

23 hours ago, Samcric said:

Batting is extremely weak. Only someone like Vihari can replace Jadeja in the current form. Ashwin or Thakur are not good enough for top 7 in England - especially given the current form of Pujara and Kohli (possibly even Rahane if important people play) as well as lack of predictability of Pant's contribution.

Almost all our batsmen don't know how to play swing. Someone coming good with the bat is more a matter of luck. 

Chances are, whoever we pick will fail because the basic technique to play swing has not been imbibed by our current lot of batters.

23 hours ago, Samcric said:

But just curious - why Shaw over Mayank? He was a walking wicket in Australia and has only performed in white ball. Aren't you extrapolating his form from a wrong format? He didn't even play any tour matches in England. 

Shaw has changed his technique significantly after his struggles in late 2020 in the IPL and that one off test.  Moreover, let us not forget that he is a high average FC batsman and we should not judge his ability in 5 day cricket based on 1 test match played with the pink ball where most others failed too.

My reason for choosing Shaw is that ... I doubt anyone will survive for long ( barring Rohit and Rahul  ).  So, it is better to pick someone like Shaw who will score 50 if he manages to stay for 60 balls.

We need to pick some new batters who have not been worked out by Anderson and Co. yet.

35 minutes ago, express bowling said:

Almost all our batsmen don't know how to play swing. Someone coming good with the bat is more a matter of luck. 

Chances are, whoever we pick will fail because the basic technique to play swing has not been imbibed by our current lot of batters.

Saying that is a great disservice to KL and Rohit who have played with a lot of discipline and left well. Even Jadeja has shown a lot of application and has been out only when he has run out of batsmen. It is not a matter of luck, some the batsmen have been more willing and determined to apply themselves, leave well and focus on shot selection.

35 minutes ago, express bowling said:

Shaw has changed his technique significantly after his struggles in late 2020 in the IPL and that one off test.  Moreover, let us not forget that he is a high average FC batsman and we should not judge his ability in 5 day cricket based on 1 test match played with the pink ball where most others failed too.

My reason for choosing Shaw is that ... I doubt anyone will survive for long ( barring Rohit and Rahul  ).  So, it is better to pick someone like Shaw who will score 50 if he manages to stay for 60 balls.

We need to pick some new batters who have not been worked out by Anderson and Co. yet.

Shaw's problems were actually highlighted during the u-19 world cup by Simon Doull and he has always maintained that Gill will have more success in red-ball. His FC record actually reflects what has transpired in his career so far - great on Indian pitches when he made Test debut. But always looked suspicious against moving ball in NZ (though he did get a half-century, he never looked settled and was not convincing at all). In Australia, more than his failures, it was the manner of dismissals - looked he was playing a level higher and international bowlers could easily get him out. It took Cummins a few balls to spot his weaknesses - feet don't move, doesn't get in line and high bat-lift swings with hard hands. I doubt if Anderson and Robinson will not be able to get him out quickly just because they have not seen him before. 

I would really like to see him succeed in tour games or A games (hopefully he gets some before South Africa tour) before giving him another go. Please do consider the downside for Shaw. He is very talented and if we expose him too early, before he has sought out and found the solutions in his game, he may be done for good. Two failures in next two matches and someone like Kohli will throw him out - without any consideration that he was facing the likes of Anderson etc. without any red-ball game time and practice.

While we are eager that the likes of Rahane are thrown out, let us be judicious about who is next in line and has done enough to deserve to wear the Indian test cap. One needs to earn it. We have seen what has happened to the English experiments with Jason Roy.

13 hours ago, Samcric said:

Saying that is a great disservice to KL and Rohit who have played with a lot of discipline and left well. Even Jadeja has shown a lot of application and has been out only when he has run out of batsmen. It is not a matter of luck, some the batsmen have been more willing and determined to apply themselves, leave well and focus on shot selection.

Our current lot of batsmen don't get to play County cricket anymore. (  There are 1 or 2 exceptions  )

This has led to them not being natural batsmen against the swinging ball. Yes, if someone is in great form or is really applying himself, he may do decently.  Like Kohli in 2018 or Rahul/Rohit this year. 

But you can see that it is an uphill task. They don't defend with soft hands, their game is built on driving on the up and trying to hit channel balls. They are not comfortable leaving too many balls. And all this can't change in a short time unless someone is in great form and mental space.

Compare this with Gavaskar, Vengsarkar, Tendulkar, Dravid, Ganguly etc. They seemed at easy while batting in England. You won't get that anymore. 

This was my basic point. Let's say Vihari replaces Jadeja or a pacer. But it won't be easy for him to score runs either. The probability of him playing an impact innings is rather low. Yes, it can happen. Not ruling it out. But the probability is not too high unless he gets very flat batting conditions.

Shaw's problems were actually highlighted during the u-19 world cup by Simon Doull and he has always maintained that Gill will have more success in red-ball. His FC record actually reflects what has transpired in his career so far - great on Indian pitches when he made Test debut. But always looked suspicious against moving ball in NZ (though he did get a half-century, he never looked settled and was not convincing at all). In Australia, more than his failures, it was the manner of dismissals - looked he was playing a level higher and international bowlers could easily get him out. It took Cummins a few balls to spot his weaknesses - feet don't move, doesn't get in line and high bat-lift swings with hard hands. I doubt if Anderson and Robinson will not be able to get him out quickly just because they have not seen him before. 

I would really like to see him succeed in tour games or A games (hopefully he gets some before South Africa tour) before giving him another go. Please do consider the downside for Shaw. He is very talented and if we expose him too early, before he has sought out and found the solutions in his game, he may be done for good. Two failures in next two matches and someone like Kohli will throw him out - without any consideration that he was facing the likes of Anderson etc. without any red-ball game time and practice.

While we are eager that the likes of Rahane are thrown out, let us be judicious about who is next in line and has done enough to deserve to wear the Indian test cap. One needs to earn it. We have seen what has happened to the English experiments with Jason Roy.

Shaw has changed his technique recently. And after that, I feel he is better equipped than Mayank to tackle the moving ball. 

Frankly speaking, I am not expecting much from any batter apart from Rahul and Rohit.  Anything they score would be a bonus. Getting flat batting conditions is our main hope of batting well as a team.

Edited by express bowling
14 hours ago, express bowling said:

Our current lot of batsmen don't get to play County cricket anymore. (  There are 1 or 2 exceptions  )

This has led to them not being natural batsmen against the swinging ball. Yes, if someone is in great form or is really applying himself, he may do decently.  Like Kohli in 2018 or Rahul/Rohit this year. 

But you can see that it is an uphill task. They don't defend with soft hands, their game is built on driving on the up and trying to hit channel balls. They are not comfortable leaving too many balls. And all this can't change in a short time unless someone is in great form and mental space.

Compare this with Gavaskar, Vengsarkar, Tendulkar, Dravid, Ganguly etc. They seemed at easy while batting in England. You won't get that anymore. 

This was my basic point. Let's say Vihari replaces Jadeja or a pacer. But it won't be easy for him to score runs either. The probability of him playing an impact innings is rather low. Yes, it can happen. Not ruling it out. But the probability is not too high unless he gets very flat batting conditions.

Shaw has changed his technique recently. And after that, I feel he is better equipped than Mayank to tackle the moving ball. 

Frankly speaking, I am not expecting much from any batter apart from Rahul and Rohit.  Anything they score would be a bonus. Getting flat batting conditions is our main hope of batting well as a team.

Don't expect much from KLR either. he has scored his quote of 2-3 good knocks and is done for the series

I do not see too many changes for the 5th test unless forced ones but Ashwin in place of Jadeja is an option, a fresh Shami may return if pace bowlers are in rotation, and a specialist batsman in place of Rahane if possible 

After this win Rahane is unlikely to be dropped...  Siraj may get replaced with a fresh Pacer possibly Shami. 

Rest to Bumrah may also be on the cards..  Prasidh Krishna might play in Manchester. 

4 minutes ago, Lone Wolf said:

After this win Rahane is unlikely to be dropped...  Siraj may get replaced with a fresh Pacer possibly Shami. 

Rest to Bumrah may also be on the cards..  Prasidh Krishna might play in Manchester. 

India need to be really smart here. They lead 2-1 going into the final test. They also need to ensure they have a strong batting lineup to prevent any collapse to allow England the chance to draw the series.

My wish would be for

KL

Hitman

Pujara

Kohli

Mayank/Shaw/Vihari/SKY

Jaddu

Pant

Thakur

Ashwin

Umesh

Bumrah

This gives India a very very long batting lineup. There is enough batting in this team that if we lose a few wickets, we can recover an post a decent total.

3 pace bowlers in Bumrah, Umesh and Thaku

3 spin options if we go with Vihari, Jaddu and Ash.