Perth Test : Realistically Safe Target

Number

There is so much time left in the match that there is no real need to have a preconceived target. They need to grind the Aussies and bat as long as possible without feeling the urge to go into T20 mode or have a deadline by which they need to score a certain number. A combination of the pitch baking for an additional day under the heat and the Aussies being tired out will make it tough for them to chase any total that will be set when India do get dismissed. If they bat another day, the target will be comfortably 450+.

The thing to bear in mind is that the Indian bowling attack is very dependent on Bumrah who needs a long rest to recover for the final innings. They also don't have a frontline spinner in the side and the medium pacers are very raw so they will need a substantial cushion.

So summary, keep batting time, ignore the "advice" to go berserk etc and just keep them out under the sun as long as possible. The only way for India not to win this game is to have a collapse tomorrow and start throwing their wickets away, get bowled out with Australia needing to score 325 in 2.5 days ( which is well within their range)

1 hour ago, saransh said:

Yeah weird when we think about it, pretty sure if we scrapped and scratched our way to a 220-230 odd score at the end of the day yesterday, Aus would have got these perfect conditions to bat and would realistically have made a 400+ score in the first dig. That would have killed the game right there.

Exactly.  Batting first and getting shot out quickly was exactly what was needed. Just the kind of luck we need on a long tour

Don’t worry guys we will lose it tomorrow.. no trust in Lolhi to hold this **** up … no way Padikal is hanging around … Lyon will come back roaring .. 

pant will hit out , Nitish ain’t doing the same thing twice .. 

sundar will hit out or be meek . 

I just hope 250 is good enough .. which is what I think we will end up giving them .. 

India should bat whole day tomorrow in normal mode and Bazball on Day 4 till Lunch, with 10 wickets in hand its very much possible. By that time, the target would be around 550 with 5 sessions to go. Enough runs on the board and sufficient time ( 150 Overs ) to bowl out Australia .

22 minutes ago, figo6762 said:

Don’t worry guys we will lose it tomorrow.. no trust in Lolhi to hold this **** up … no way Padikal is hanging around … Lyon will come back roaring .. 

pant will hit out , Nitish ain’t doing the same thing twice .. 

sundar will hit out or be meek . 

I just hope 250 is good enough .. which is what I think we will end up giving them .. 

What in the pessimistic potato.. :confused:

We are already leading by 218/0 and somehow we will collapse to 250 lead? 

5 minutes ago, cowboysfan said:

who knows,his is not a typical fast perth wicket,maybe it will continue to flatten out like in new zealand.

Yeah this is my biggest worry. Need to get to 450 ideally to remove all doubt. It's very hard to chase that down no matter how flat the wicket gets .

6 minutes ago, Norman said:

What in the pessimistic potato.. :confused:

We are already leading by 218/0 and somehow we will collapse to 250 lead? 

With this team thats possible lol

The objective should be to bat time. Tire Aussie pacers out and also allow pitch to deteriorate. The temp today is gonna be in 30s and it feels even hotter in the stadium. The pitch will dry out even more and cracks and uneven bounce are gonna show up. We've done the hard yards and now it's simply about burying Aussies.

3 hours ago, LordPrabhzy said:

India needs to bat till Lunch on Day 4- and set aussies a 450+ target. Idea is to wear down the bowlers and the team by making them field outside all day in 35Deg heat. Can the Indian batting hold its nerve and do it?

35 degree heat nHi hai bhai. It's spring time. Temperature has hardly touched 30.

4 minutes ago, rkt.india said:

35 degree heat nHi hai bhai. It's spring time. Temperature has hardly touched 30.

then how did grass dry out in one day