The right lessons to take from this series

2-0. What a disappointing batting performance, once again. It's easy to get carried away but I think it's important to take the right lessons from these defeats which will help us in 2018. Here are what I believe some right lessons to take.

Right lessons

-India were competitive for large parts of both games. No change will stop us throwing our wickets away recklessly. We just have to do better. :yousuck:

-SA are a very good team and the toss played a role in this match.

-If India's going to play with 5 bowlers( I think we should!) we need a more balanced side. Shami( well batted today:bow:)Bumrah, and Ishant provide too long a tail and a bowler like Bhuvi needs to be in the team to provide batting support in this system.

-Play practice matches in new conditions before test series. Cmon:facepalm:. Kya samajh rakha hai ?

List your own.

- catching . catch . catch some more . need a good keeper - pant ,karthick whoever keeps best . batting is bonus

- openers . have faith in rahul and vijay 

- middle order . get rid of pujara . does not play well outside of india . ever . 

rahane , kohli and someone else - shaw or nair . 

-no 6 - pandya is a boon . bumrah shami pandya  and ash jaddu along with kuldeep and now a mature ishant . all they need to do is stop bowling boundary balls . 

get dravid as coach . sack shastri . get zaheer as bowling captain 

i think the future is good . kohli the batsman is awesome . poor captain in general - for tests make rahane captain . one day make sharma captain 

Sort out our batsman. Have a gameplan and key batsmen must take more responsibility -- Kohli Rahul Che Pu.  

And for God's sake find a match winning bowler. All our victories overseas have mostly come with one bowler becoming a match winner. Agarkar at Adelaide, Sreesanth at Durban,  Ishant at lords etc..  I can't see us winning with bowlers contributing equally. By then the score will go beyond our reachable target.

Years after years after years, the same learned a lot, lesson to be learnt, we competed etc.. This team deserves some sh!T. Everyone in the team act like superstar. They don't want to play practise match. These players have all the facilities, coaches, cheerleaders cum managers, name and fame, girls and booze and they are still sh!T. 

Edited by Pollack

Over the years, much time has been wasted on  such right lessons threads. Ind’s trend of usually losing to teams outside of Asia has continued 

While we want the team to learn its lesson after every loss (such threads are like a perennial TV series), poor fans have not their learned lessons yet. Comically, they come before almost every series dreaming “this time it would be different”. Even if everything is ok, usually we will still find a way to lose. We are mouse overseas esp outside of Asia

1. Never expect much from these money minded frauds .Going to get  disappointed on more occasions than not

2.Unless super talented like FAB 5 of  the 90s(even then there was Ganguly & 'Gambhir to some extend'),select a left hand- right hand combination of batsmen(preferably 3-3).It's a basic knowledge that left-right batsmen at the crease make life lot more easier by disturbing the rhythm of bowlers a bit.

3, Kick out proven failures who has failed in 3 out of 4 alien countries  in their first tours like Pujara,Dhawan,Rohit etc.They are bound to fail than not in subsequent tours too.

4.Add a few left handed quality fast bowlers to the squad.

5, Change the mindset of players and make them to  be positive all times at the crease with out worrying about failures.

2 hours ago, sergio04 said:

we fans need to take chill pill

cricketers dont care about us

they are earning millions

bcci is earning billions

players might be partying tonight

and we are sad about their performance

watch ipl as enterainment for 4 hours 

and enjoy whoever performs

nice poem

Aggression is marked by intent, not by expletives

Virat Kohli is clearly more Nadal than Federer where the expression of aggression is concerned. He seems genuinely angry each time he scores a hundred, or when one of his bowlers dismisses the opposition’s key batsman. Even as a batsman, he exemplifies the phrase about offence being the best form of defence.

After India lost the first Test against South Africa earlier this month, he said the Indian batsmen needed to put more pressure on the bowling—suggesting that seeing off deliveries, overs, sessions was a meek objective; the real target was dominance.

This kind of attitude is great on the field. India have, after all, won 20 of 34 Test matches played under Kohli’s captaincy, and he has built a team that doesn’t give an inch once umpires call play.

However, the team selection for the first two Tests does indicate that Kohli has let this in-built aggression influence key decisions. Captain Kohli will always prefer a Rohit Sharma—smasher of attacks in the shorter formats—to the more measured Ajinkya Rahane, for example. Also, a Bhuvaneshwar Kumar might lose out because he doesn’t stare batsmen down as well as an Ishant Sharma.

Is this prudent? It’s hard to say—at the end of the day, it’s the results that will speak for themselves. In both Tests, India found themselves in positions from which they could have forced a win.

As things stand, however, it is yet another series defeat in South Africa. They’ll have to wait a while yet to complete the “hisaab pachees saal ka”.There’s little doubt that Kohli, the batsman, will go down as an all-time great. But he —and coach Ravi Shastri—will do well to realize that aggression doesn’t just lie in boundaries and sixes and full-throated expletives. Cheteshwar Pujara seeing out a session or Kumar nagging away just outside the off-stump...these are signs of intent as well.

http://www.livemint.com/Sports/swl5Cq7Y1Mp8qkOuwMKkTI/Aggression-is-marked-by-intent-not-by-expletives.html

The right lesson learned
Let me guess.. Ki hum nhi sudherengey, no matter how much you make noise, captain is deaf and don't give too hoots about the fans all he wants his position as captain secured that is why he f.. Ed up a settled unit and destroyed their confidence.

Sent from my vivo 1601 using Tapatalk

As soon as Shashtri became coach, I opined that on field the impact will initially be drawn game instead of "Possible win".  (India Srilanka Home series)

Next, our fielding will suffer due to Shashri laid back attitude. This willl utimately turn "Possibly closely contested" in "certain Loss".

Next we will give up hope. That is the time Shashri wiould have completed 2 Years of his coaching career