Dhoni vs Bevan, Who is/was the greatest finisher

raki05

4 minutes ago, raki05 said:

Agreed, only questuon is he is same as kohli though he hss one great inning in wc final which kojli doesnt have. But in bigger stage i think bevan was dlightly better.

who is same as kohli????

If ur talking about dhoni , well both are diff and both cant be compared due to their batting position n skills possesed. Both will feature in almost 80-90% world 11 . U can compare kohli to smith, rohit, aBDV and dhoni to hussey, bevan

Both brings diff things to team 

Bevan wnt feature in many XI, hussey wud be ahead of him. 

Their is cricket beyond world tournaments. Arguments cant be solely based on them, WI won in 2004 CT, pak won now.....shud i start considering them as top teams .......a hell no 

17 minutes ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

who is same as kohli????

If ur talking about dhoni , well both are diff and both cant be compared due to their batting position n skills possesed. Both will feature in almost 80-90% world 11 . U can compare kohli to smith, rohit, aBDV and dhoni to hussey, bevan

Both brings diff things to team 

Bevan wnt feature in many XI, hussey wud be ahead of him. 

Their is cricket beyond world tournaments. Arguments cant be solely based on them, WI won in 2004 CT, pak won now.....shud i start considering them as top teams .......a hell no 

Offcourse i m talking abt dhoni , both kohli and dhoni are same as far as wc 50 over is concerned, however Virat is better thn him in overall icc tournament, though thats not the discussion here. And from start i said i m only considering major events or tournaments and in those i think Vevan trumped Dhoni.

Bevan always chased assuming that he is a limited talented cricketer and needs to break the pressure the moment he gets an opportunity. He was like a fox in the jungle which is on the lookout for even squirrels and at the same time has to be wary of the bigger predators. So basically, every moment at the crease was a question of survival. 

whereas, MSD the lion always chased like a South Indian mass hero who will take 3/4 blows from the opposition, feigns defeat just to give some anxiety to his sweetheart and his fans in the theatre maybe for his own fun before unleashing with a flurry of blows on the villain at the very last f***ing moment when you thought all was lost.

though you have to hand it over to him, more often than not MSD succeeded. 

I have to say that MSD is the more assured chaser and also the more arrogant. 

Edited by Temujin Khaghan
1 hour ago, Laaloo said:

You just completely missed the qf and the SF right? The perfect time for dhoni to promote himself was after Sachin got out ahead of Kohli who was still a noob. Not after the stage was set. The same yuvi who you know won us the match when we were in a bad position at 160/5 on a dry pitch in ahmedabad. Just look at the comments section. No one wants in favour of that move especially as how dhoni didn't do jackshit the whole tournament. Why didn't he promote himself against a rampaging Riaz at Mohali? Why did he wait on a flat pitch in Mumbai when we were in a good position? That's the story of dhonis life. Just look at the last T20 series. When we're in a good position, he promotes himself. When we're not, he's hiding behind Karthik.

Btw hope you watched the ranji and saw how pant kept. Keep doing your chamchagiri though. 

Dhoni fans won't agree to that in their whole life. I have had this discussion numerous times with different people who like Dhoni and they always say, if Yuvi had come before Dhoni in WC2011 final, it wouldn't have been sensible. Dhoni's decision was sensible. But you raised pretty good points that why he didn't promoted himself in earlier situations or even if wanted to come earlier just in final then coming in place of Virat would have been even better. We can't ignore Virat's innings there as well. Although it was just 35 of 49 balls but that partnership with Gambhir was more crucial then Gambhir-Dhoni parternship but it brought us back to the game. No doubt, Dhoni played a blinder there by handling Murali well, he shots of back foot through covers to Murali were really admirable but still I won't say that Dhoni had historical decision to promote himself. Yuvi was equally good or better at that time. 

4 hours ago, raki05 said:

I think u r still missing the points, i think you are suggesting based on intial topic. However my main intention was to know based on the performances  on major events who was best finisher

Dhoni. 

Based on major events cannot just be the world cups + ICC champions trophy. Too small a sample space and its basically reducing the career of 300+ matches to 20-odd matches. 

3 hours ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

I did watch those games 

There is a thing called instict, there is a thing called reason and one the biggest was murali whom he played really well with gambo and yuvi didnt as yuvi himself has mentioned that he didnt enjoy playing murali.

Kohli was not the best option at 5 , his best place was 4

That SL game was no good position , it wasnt bad position ....we just got stable and it was still a long journey .

Comment section men bhi tere jaise dhakkan honge jo ant men galat sabit hue

Flat pitch, well in Final its all about pressure that to when ur chasing. 

Btw the ahedb game ur talking about didnt that had so much dew . 

The same yuvi got out on 0 in semi , so in cricket u never knw . Who knws wo final men 0 pe out ho jata. Jo hua sahi hua wo nhin dekhna bas apna personal agenda nikalna hai . 

Yhi problem hai tum log har cheez men keeda nikalna hia , wo pehle kyun nhin aaya baad men kyun. U have just made it all about giving credit individual .....

F... offf......cricket is a team game . Stop calling ur self cricket fan agar saara keeda individual ko hi credit dene ke liye 

I never questioned pant keeping, i have said that do we knw how good or bad his keeping is....and all those comment came today after seeing him keep. Comparing him to dhoni level keeping is stupid dhoni himself didnt reach here in 1-2 yrs, so pant will take time. Whats an asset in dhoni keeping is his stumping, which is diff to match for anyone due to his unorthodox technique .

Also do ur self a favour after his final innings dnt even present his case atleast for sometime now.

Lol you cant go one post without abusing. What's wrong with you? I made one logical post and you got irked pretty bad. You completely ignored the aus game. And at that time, dhoni promoting himself despite doing nothing on tougher pitches was universally questioned. Why didn't his instinct came in when we were in a rut when Kohli came in? Tu chamchagiri karta reh. Om dhoni namaya. I can never take you seriously. Always ass kissing. Kuch toh sharam kar. 

And regarding pant, we have been saying that for more than a year now. Not my fault you can't face the truth because you're too busy pimping dhoni.  

Edited by Laaloo
1 hour ago, puneet28 said:

Dhoni fans won't agree to that in their whole life. I have had this discussion numerous times with different people who like Dhoni and they always say, if Yuvi had come before Dhoni in WC2011 final, it wouldn't have been sensible. Dhoni's decision was sensible. But you raised pretty good points that why he didn't promoted himself in earlier situations or even if wanted to come earlier just in final then coming in place of Virat would have been even better. We can't ignore Virat's innings there as well. Although it was just 35 of 49 balls but that partnership with Gambhir was more crucial then Gambhir-Dhoni parternship but it brought us back to the game. No doubt, Dhoni played a blinder there by handling Murali well, he shots of back foot through covers to Murali were really admirable but still I won't say that Dhoni had historical decision to promote himself. Yuvi was equally good or better at that time. 

Yes I'm not disagreeing that dhoni played exceptionally well. I'm disagreeing on why he promoted himself when the going was easier. But then again, up until now he has always done that. Just look at SL series for better example. India in a good position, this guy is promoted and he hits a blistering 28(21). Wow great knock. He always wants to be in the limelight. Even when pant played, he never got to keep because this has been was insecure of his position. His chamchas are defending his 54(116) knock now. Come on now :facepalm:

20 minutes ago, Laaloo said:

Lol you cant go one post without abusing. What's wrong with you? I made one logical post and you got irked pretty bad. You completely ignored the aus game. And at that time, dhoni promoting himself despite doing nothing on tougher pitches was universally questioned. Why didn't his instinct came in when we were in a rut when Kohli came in? Tu chamchagiri karta reh. Om dhoni namaya. I can never take you seriously. Always ass kissing. Kuch toh sharam kar. 

And regarding pant, we have been saying that for more than a year now. Not my fault you can't face the truth because you're too busy pimping dhoni.  

Logical, ur every post objective is to take a pot shot at dhoni . 

The day he doesnt promote- ohh he is scared

The day he does- oh it was easy he came to hog limelight, u dumb no Wc final is easy. U knw who came in the easiest position yuvraj on that day

Just to take a pot shot on him ull want youngsters to not be tested, indian jaye bhaad men dhoni ko gaali deni hai 

Look at ur profile- any1 but dhoni n chuskis

Sharam kru kisliye that m defending someone who has been of the best Odi player in history n still performing. Who has had one bad yr in entire career when people hardly have 4-5 good in entire career. 

Keep ur frustation with u, n learn to calm urself ull need it he aint going anywere. 

Bevan was good for era, as has been pointed out whilst his running between the wickets was excellent he did not have - and I guess did not need- the power game to chase really big scores. I can only think of his century for World XI vs Asia XI when he showed some serious big hitting prowess. 

Hussey was a great finisher and him and MSD are probably the two best ever lower middle order ODI bats.

2 hours ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

Logical, ur every post objective is to take a pot shot at dhoni . 

The day he doesnt promote- ohh he is scared

The day he does- oh it was easy he came to hog limelight, u dumb no Wc final is easy. U knw who came in the easiest position yuvraj on that day

Just to take a pot shot on him ull want youngsters to not be tested, indian jaye bhaad men dhoni ko gaali deni hai 

Look at ur profile- any1 but dhoni n chuskis

Sharam kru kisliye that m defending someone who has been of the best Odi player in history n still performing. Who has had one bad yr in entire career when people hardly have 4-5 good in entire career. 

Keep ur frustation with u, n learn to calm urself ull need it he aint going anywere. 

Another post with a lot of gibberish. So i want India to be in the best position to win the next WC and I don't see dhoni as a fit and India jaaye bhaad mein. It's a forum. I'm allowed to express my views. Tu kuch sharam kar na. Chamchagiri karne ke jlawa kuch aata bhi hai? And I never said dhoni came at the easiest position. I'm arguing the fact that he didn't came when it was needed right after Sachin got out. :facepalm: tujhe kuch samajh aata hai ki nahi. 

And surprise surprise you didn't reply to what I said about pant. 

Of course he's not going anywhere. Jab haarenge WC iski wajah se tab mujhe bolna ki India jaaye bhaad mein. Tab Tak toh Tere jaise Chamche ko aur kuch bahane mil jayenge. I mean the chamchas have already excused dhoni in t20s saying he's a specialist wk. :cantstop:

There is nothing called finisher in cricket ,there is only batting ,bowling & fielding ffs 

This finisher thing always gets on my nerves ,any capable batsman who is set can stay till the end and end games ,there is no special quality attached to it,you cannot hail someone as finisher just because he tries to stay till the end and gives hitting duty to his partner,apart from his early years this is what he has done and also inspired others of this generation to follow the same

If I had to compare between Dhoni n Bevan,I ll say Dhoni surpassed him long back,but not because of this finisher crap but because of his general understanding of odi batting/situations and he had more gears for this format

Bevan perhaps had a poor strikerate for a middle order batsman.was it because of reverse swing? But overall I think he finished games across the world. That is more important. Dhoni on the other hand rarely finished games in Australia south Africa England new Zealand. I have no data evidence for this. 

Also those days bats conditions bowlers etc were far more difficult. Especially reverse swing. Bevan slightly ahead. 

Edited by Vk1
10 hours ago, Pollack said:

Dhoni is the best finisher ever in ODI cricket history but sadly no match winner except for a few handful matches when he had long hairs against mighty Pakistan and/or Srilankas.

One misconception is Bevan cannot score quickly which is not true. He just didn't need to most of the times. He was playing in one heck of a all time great Aussie team.

Top post. Bevan was certainly capable of scoring quickly when needed. This knock against SA in their backyard being one of his best. Incredible innings against Donald and Pollock under pressure to win the series for Australia.

Bevan bailed out the team single handedly along with the tail more times than Dhoni. Dhoni made use of the good work of the top order and ensured we won in the end - which is not his problem though. Also if I'm right, Bevan was not floated around the order - which Dhoni did, according to his whims and hence helped him in getting the higher average. For India in ODIs, Dhoni is unquestionably a boon though.