R!TTER Posted February 14, 2021 Posted February 14, 2021 1 hour ago, MechEng said: preparing greentops. Greentops against England for this lineup, with our 3 best bowlers (plus A/R) missing, is basically frying your own b**** in soy sauce just to taste them - I mean why really?
sage Posted February 14, 2021 Posted February 14, 2021 The point of a green top is that it makes the captain winning toss gamble that the openers can survive until it becomes better for batting later on day one and day two, or decide that it’s so green that it is worth bowling first. If England produced green seamers that got greener and worse to bat on then it would be comparable with the current wicket in question
express bowling Posted February 14, 2021 Posted February 14, 2021 Need to prepare pitches where toss is not important. Bowlers will have some help but not too much help on all 5 days. And a bit of bounce is needed. This pitch has a bit of bounce. Under_Score and raki05 2
mani sha Posted February 14, 2021 Posted February 14, 2021 We shouldn’t be apologetic. Pitch which turns from ball 1 to ball infinite is a sporty pitch offering nobody any advantage . if u have ashwin and axar who are tall bowlers able to exploit this pitch then u definitely should have more of these pitches . Once in a while u will get Monty and the other English off spinner along with a peterson who will do better then ur home spinners - so be it . nobody questions gabba , nobody questions South African and New Zealand grass masquerading as a pitch , nobody questions English pitches doctored to have swing and no seam to suit Anderson etc , why is it that we have to be apologetic . if at all I feel first pitch in chennai was useless . Clearly the side batting first was gonna win . take the toss out of the picture ... game on GoldenSun and nevada 1 1
ShoonyaSifar Posted February 14, 2021 Posted February 14, 2021 6 hours ago, chewy said: If anything to go by SMAT final 2021, the central pitch is rank Turner. Perfect for left arm darters. The side pitches were decent batting wickets. Only issue is evening dew for d/n Weather has started to warm up nicely. Should be a good high of 35, low of 20 type weather by the d/n test, getting warmer progressively. There has been limited evening dew for the last two days. In the next week or so, it will go properly dry.
ShoonyaSifar Posted February 14, 2021 Posted February 14, 2021 Take out Rohit's masterclass (aided by winning the toss) and we could very well be in a simit situation as England. That's the huge risk with underprepared pitches. Makes it a gamble. Such pitches also help England's above average soun attack look much better. Trust our bowlers and prepare normal Indian wickets with some bounce for spinners (not low and slow wickets). It doesn't have to break up from 1st session. We have played most of our recent home matches on such tracks. Should be easy to replicate such pitches across venues.
rtmohanlal Posted February 14, 2021 Posted February 14, 2021 the matter is not w.r.t pitches ... it is w.r.t handling the pressure of batting 2nd if toss is lost... then with the inadequacies Pujara , Rahane & arrogant dumb ass captain forming the midle order, it is a given to crumble under even a bit of pressure ...That's the problem... nevada 1
Nikhil_cric Posted February 14, 2021 Posted February 14, 2021 Does toss really matter in a pink ball test? Especially for the Pink SG? It moves quite a bit laterally. Need to make flat pitches. Jimmy might run riot otherwise.
neel roy Posted February 14, 2021 Posted February 14, 2021 We havent won as yet this test. Stranger things have happened. India collapsing 125 and they chasing 320 to win.. might happen might not. But lets first wrap up this test first
Jay Posted February 15, 2021 Posted February 15, 2021 Prepare pitches that aid spin but not too much help. Also add in a bit of help for bounce. Too much of a rank Turner is a gamble especially without Jadeja, Shami and Umesh etc.
Tibarn Posted February 15, 2021 Posted February 15, 2021 No one in the team or BCCI cares about what chatter happens online anyway cowboysfan 1
Gollum Posted February 15, 2021 Posted February 15, 2021 We will make whatever pitch that gives us the best chance of securing WTC F spot. To English experts and brown coolies, jitna rona hai ro lo, humko ghanta farak nahi padta. Banton 1
New guy Posted February 15, 2021 Posted February 15, 2021 Look at our batting against spin here, we would have lost by at least 200 runs of we had batted second here
New guy Posted February 15, 2021 Posted February 15, 2021 1 hour ago, Gollum said: We will make whatever pitch that gives us the best chance of securing WTC F spot. To English experts and brown coolies, jitna rona hai ro lo, humko ghanta farak nahi padta. Do you think we can win on such pitches if we batted second?
coffee_rules Posted February 15, 2021 Posted February 15, 2021 (edited) 29 minutes ago, New guy said: Do you think we can win on such pitches if we batted second? Yes, for starters, Eng wouldn’t have crossed 200 batting first on this pitch. All this is moot, we should play to our advantage and spin it is. Bite that facking bullet Edited February 15, 2021 by coffee_rules Clarke 1
New guy Posted February 15, 2021 Posted February 15, 2021 (edited) 8 minutes ago, coffee_rules said: Yes, for starters, Eng wouldn’t have crossed 200 batting first on this pitch. All this is moot, we should play to our advantage and spin it is. Bite that facking bullet And our side wouldn't have crossed 200 chasing either. Lamo This confidence after we couldn't survive 2 and half session on day 5 on a much flatter pitch is hilarious. That day 5 pitch didn't turn as much as say 2 pitch here. Yet we collapsed Our advantage hasn't been spin at home for 5+ years, 65% of our home wickets were by pacers, most people seem to have short term memory loss. We have decimated opposition with pace Edited February 15, 2021 by New guy sage and GoldenSun 1 1
Jay Posted February 15, 2021 Posted February 15, 2021 50 minutes ago, New guy said: And our side wouldn't have crossed 200 chasing either. Lamo This confidence after we couldn't survive 2 and half session on day 5 on a much flatter pitch is hilarious. That day 5 pitch didn't turn as much as say 2 pitch here. Yet we collapsed Our advantage hasn't been spin at home for 5+ years, 65% of our home wickets were by pacers, most people seem to have short term memory loss. We have decimated opposition with pace I am not confident either with our team batting second on Turner's but we dint pick the right selections. Put Mayank and Rahul in the team then yes we can chase it down. But we are stuck with Rahane etc. Also missing Jadeja, Umesh and Shami. New guy 1
rangeelaraja Posted February 15, 2021 Author Posted February 15, 2021 1 hour ago, New guy said: And our side wouldn't have crossed 200 chasing either. Lamo This confidence after we couldn't survive 2 and half session on day 5 on a much flatter pitch is hilarious. That day 5 pitch didn't turn as much as say 2 pitch here. Yet we collapsed Our advantage hasn't been spin at home for 5+ years, 65% of our home wickets were by pacers, most people seem to have short term memory loss. We have decimated opposition with pace @New guy How did Ashwin and Jaddu pick up almost 600 wickets among themselves in last 6-7 years if our spinners have not led the domination ? Under_Score 1