Whom would you back if an Indian Christian and a Hindu American play against each other

Who do you back  

16 members have voted

1. 1. Whom do you want to win deep within

• Indian (of any religion other than Hinduism)
    • Hindu (representing any country other than Indian)

I think this is a "Dharam Sankat" question for some of the ICFers.
Who do you want to win. I will back someone representing India irrespective of what his/her personal beliefs are. 

Well, I was going through the chess analysis videos of the match between Abhimanyu Mishra and Leon Luke Mendonca like the one below.
The first name sounds Indian and the second sounds that of a white person. But they represent USA and India respectively. 

Is this even a real question? So wrong on so many levels. 

Reminds me of Shoaib Malik apologising to all Muslims after losing the T20 WC to India in 2007. Wtf was he on.

Keep politics out of it and support your favourite player 

Indian Christian/Muslim .... but because Mishra was 1 game away from being the youngest GM , One may have supported him against Leon.

Nationality, religion apart Mishra is a cheerful likeable (and chubby) young kid ...one may support him anyway

People are free to support whoever they want to and shouldn't feel guilty about it. The majority of Indians born and bred in the UK support India in cricket over England.

Neither.
Both are kafirs. :dontknow:

I would always support a Muslim player regardless of the country he/she belongs to. Aakhir, ummah bhi koi cheez hoti hai ki nahi?

I would have waxed eloquent on why Muslims need to defeat non Muslims in sport, especially chess. But I've a Qurbani to commit on an unsuspecting prey. It's Bakri Eid. Can't type much while sharpening the knife.

Why muslims are bad at chess?
Because they restrict the movement of the queen.

Sent from my SM-M315F using Tapatalk

57 minutes ago, Ranvir said:

People are free to support whoever they want to and shouldn't feel guilty about it. The majority of Indians born and bred in the UK support India in cricket over England.

because cricket is the ONLY sport where Indians in the UK are actively involved in ( grassroot level) or watching. And England are a team of cry baby brats who love going on about one way sportsmanship which puts off a lot of Indian people from supporting them. I lost all respect for the team post 2011 Bell/Dhoni incident. I was in Trent Bridge that day and hearing the boos was so shameful

21 minutes ago, LordPrabhzy said:

because cricket is the ONLY sport where Indians in the UK are actively involved in ( grassroot level) or watching. And England are a team of cry baby brats who love going on about one way sportsmanship which puts off a lot of Indian people from supporting them. I lost all respect for the team post 2011 Bell/Dhoni incident. I was in Trent Bridge that day and hearing the boos was so shameful

You can dress it anyway you want but the vast majority of Indians, Pakistanis, Bangladeshis, Sri Lankans born in the UK support their parent's home country because the players look like them and they identify with the culture more. People support whoever they identify with.

59 minutes ago, Ranvir said:

You can dress it anyway you want but the vast majority of Indians, Pakistanis, Bangladeshis, Sri Lankans born in the UK support their parent's home country because the players look like them and they identify with the culture more. People support whoever they identify with.

I dont disagree with you..

But why do a majority of UK South Asians passionately support England in football and not India or Pakistan in the same way they do for cricket? Using your logic not many brown people would support the English footy team

1 minute ago, LordPrabhzy said:

I dont disagree with you..

But why do a majority of UK South Asians passionately support England in football and not India or Pakistan in the same way they do for cricket? Using your logic not many brown people would support the English footy team

Because India and Pakistan are absolutely hopeless in football. They never qualify for the World Cup, even in Asia they are hopeless. They get no exposure and there are no good players playing for then.

If they were even half competent like Iran or Turkey then the South Asians born in the UK would support them passionately and you would see them wearing their shirts on the street.

You still have 2nd generation Irish and Italians here supporting Ireland and Italy over England for this very reason.

42 minutes ago, Ranvir said:

Because India and Pakistan are absolutely hopeless in football. They never qualify for the World Cup, even in Asia they are hopeless. They get no exposure and there are no good players playing for then.

If they were even half competent like Iran or Turkey then the South Asians born in the UK would support them passionately and you would see them wearing their shirts on the street.

You still have 2nd generation Irish and Italians here supporting Ireland and Italy over England for this very reason.

so essentially we run after glory... if India was hopeless at cricket.. we would support England then right?

50 minutes ago, LordPrabhzy said:

so essentially we run after glory... if India was hopeless at cricket.. we would support England then right?

Think of India in football being worse than UAE in cricket and getting even less exposure in the mainstream media. Do you ever hear about the UAE cricket team? Can the average Indian at home or abroad even name two current Indian footballers?

India are a complete non entity in football.

There were big celebrations in New York when Italy won the World Cup in 2006 and similarly in Melbourne last week and it wasn't just new immigrants but people who were born and raised there. Now these same people would support the Australian cricket team because Italy is a non entity in cricket but if Italy were a test playing nation then they would support Italy against Australia. In football they would support Italy over Australia or at least have split loyalties.

Edited by Ranvir