neel roy Posted December 15, 2021 Posted December 15, 2021 2 hours ago, Ravi_Shastri said: It has England had cook, strauss and broad at the same time. 3 different captains for three formats Yes part time stop gap. Not full time.
mishra Posted December 15, 2021 Posted December 15, 2021 1 hour ago, Bigg Brother said: The way Kohli left captaincy was atrocious. I would have lauded him had he left after T20 WC loss but he announced it beforehand with next T20 WC just next yr. Same with RCB. But I don't give a fuq about RCB though. Kohli was pushed. And rightly so. I won’t be surprised if be isn’t served the same template in test arena. He knows it too. Sad for Kohli but I can fully understand Dada’s actions. BCCI has to get rid of toxins in Indian cricket. raki05 1
mishra Posted December 15, 2021 Posted December 15, 2021 49 minutes ago, asterix said: No player can be bigger than the game, team or the organisation. Even if Kohli was wronged (things happen and it’s not a perfect World, Ashwin too might say he was wronged by Kohli), after this Press Conference, Kohli has to now go away. You can’t keep a Egomaniac having a combined Virushka Social Media army at bay. They’ll create lots of pressure on any of the successive Captain. Given his Toxic nature, it’s time now to initiate disciplinary investigations on him and then sack him from all formats. Kohli knows what is up next. Test captaincy. What I don’t understand is why is he so surprised that he is getting treated in this manner. Virushka isn’t BCCI asterix and raki05 2
neel roy Posted December 15, 2021 Posted December 15, 2021 1 hour ago, jalebi_bhai said: Except that it has, in Indian cricket itself. Mithali Raj is our Women's ODI captain and Harmanpreet is our T20I captain. Harman took over in 2016 and Raj played under her till her retirement in 2019. The precedent exists in Indian cricket. Yes but in womans cricket its basically 2 format game. India women has played 14 tests , yes 14 tests in last 22 years. https://stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/engine/records/team/series_results.html?class=8;id=1863;type=team
neel roy Posted December 15, 2021 Posted December 15, 2021 9 minutes ago, SK_IH said: I despise both individuals, power hungry maniacs & both least bothered about Indian cricket. Difference is players loved Ganguly. Not sure about Kohli with his whimsical selections and insecurities he creates raki05 1
raki05 Posted December 15, 2021 Posted December 15, 2021 why is so much of fuss.. he couldn't able to win a single icc trophy after so many chances and after every defeat he gave some silly excuses or talk like as if no one has right to question him. Now he has been brought down to earth by bcci, he was thinking himself as goat, no matter how much great you are if you try to be cocky and arrogant you will loose support eventually. BCCI was looking for that one chance he lost support of his team mates, senior players and eventually bcci babus. Now if he still trying to be more cocky he will loose his test captaincy also in no time. mishra 1
mishra Posted December 15, 2021 Posted December 15, 2021 ^ That exactly what Anurag Thakur meant when today he said to world(incidentally before Kohli interview) that “no one is bigger then game”
jalebi_bhai Posted December 15, 2021 Posted December 15, 2021 23 minutes ago, neel roy said: Yes but in womans cricket its basically 2 format game. India women has played 14 tests , yes 14 tests in last 22 years. https://stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/engine/records/team/series_results.html?class=8;id=1863;type=team The topic of discussion was split captaincy in white ball cricket, which you claimed never happened, which is not true. Ravi_Shastri 1
Austin 3:!6 Posted December 15, 2021 Posted December 15, 2021 1 hour ago, diga said: Picture abhi baki hain... Chetan Sharma ji should just shut up. He is the same guy responsible for worst T20 squad selection in history. So much Rahul Chahar's fast leg spin will help team in UAE. This guy is absolutely clueless and I trust cricket knowledge of ICF posters more. maniac and vvvslaxman 2
vvvslaxman Posted December 15, 2021 Posted December 15, 2021 Both can be true. THey probably would not have removed him from the captaincy if he had not resigned. Kohli assumed giving up T20 captain won't impact his ODI captaincy.
ShoonyaSifar Posted December 15, 2021 Posted December 15, 2021 13 minutes ago, Austin 3:!6 said: Chetan Sharma ji should just shut up. He is the same guy responsible for worst T20 squad selection in history. So much Rahul Chahar's fast leg spin will help team in UAE. This guy is absolutely clueless and I trust cricket knowledge of ICF posters more. Yeah he should have backed the social media influencer captain's sidekick and the tiktok star, who had been worse than spinners from Associate nation in the last 2-3 years prior to the WC. I just wish they continue to back Chahal, Bishnoi and other young spinners.
ShoonyaSifar Posted December 15, 2021 Posted December 15, 2021 End is near for Kohli and he knows it. The CoA jokers made the biggest mistake by bowing to his demands by sacking Kumble. This is BCCI's opportunity to correct that mistake now.
neel roy Posted December 15, 2021 Posted December 15, 2021 Its silly that Ganguly tried to save Kohli s face by saying they wanted him to stay. Instead if he was directly sacked as odi n t20 captain there would have been no controversy ShoonyaSifar and South_Paw 2
ShoonyaSifar Posted December 15, 2021 Posted December 15, 2021 2 minutes ago, neel roy said: Its silly that Ganguly tried to save Kohli s face by saying they wanted him to stay. Instead if he was directly sacked as odi n t20 captain there would have been no controversy Should have been sacked from captaincy right after the WTC final. Dada and BCCI have given Kohli too much of leeway for the last 12-15 months. Must be regretting the decision now. Best way to deal with this situation - form a committee led by Anil Kumble to investigate complaints against Kohli of being inaccessible and making random decisions. I would anyday trust the group of Dada, Dravid, VVS, Kumble (and Sachin) who saved Indian cricket after the match fixing saga of 2000 and built a solid base over an egomaniac who has made it all about himself in the last 3-4 years. AuxiliA, Forever Indian, rollingstoned and 1 other 2 2
prudent_kreeda Posted December 15, 2021 Posted December 15, 2021 1 minute ago, ShoonyaSifar said: Should have been sacked from captaincy right after the WTC final. Dada and BCCI have given Kohli too much of leeway for the last 12-15 months. Must be regretting the decision now. Best way to deal with this situation - form a committee led by Anil Kumble to investigate complaints against Kohli of being inaccessible and making random decisions. I would anyday trust the group of Dada, Dravid, VVS, Kumble (and Sachin) who saved Indian cricket after the match fixing saga of 2000 and built a solid base over an egomaniac who has made it all about himself in the last 3-4 years. Agree. BCCI should talk straight . Highlight Kohli 's track record as Captain -5 + years of all 3 captaincy - No WTC trophy. Time to move on . Period !! Let PR Bots go on crying in Social Media . ShoonyaSifar 1
diga Posted December 15, 2021 Posted December 15, 2021 (edited) Kohli summarily denied issues with Kumble and then in the background, wrote an email to BCCI.. Seems like what goes around comes around Edited December 15, 2021 by diga ShoonyaSifar 1
neel roy Posted December 15, 2021 Posted December 15, 2021 The biggest issue in cricket is captaincy doesnt come with a pre determined shelf life like all other positions in cricket like coach selector office bearers who are given a contract for a finite no of years. There is no checks and balances till he loses form n loses matches. Now the question is which horse wil be backed. Ganguly shah if things go their way per supreme court will stay for nx 5 years ie 2026! Will Kohli be able to maintain form and fitness till next 5 years
Lone Wolf Posted December 15, 2021 Posted December 15, 2021 Kohli's situation is almost like Kendall Roy in Succession he's done technically. BCCI's only issue is Rohit is unfit & old.. Otherwise Kohli wouldn't have anywhere to hide. Sacking was long time coming actually.
nevada Posted December 15, 2021 Posted December 15, 2021 5 hours ago, urbestfriend said: Dada: "It's like I said… I personally requested him (Kohli) not to give up the T20I captaincy. Obviously, he felt the workload. Which is fine, he has been a great cricketer, he has been very intense with his cricket. He has captained for a long period of time and these things happen. Also, they wanted only one white-ball captain. And that's why this decision." Kohli: "When I told BCCI that I want to give up T20I captaincy, it was accepted really well. There was no hesitancy. I was told that it was a progressive step. I informed at that time that I would like to lead in ODIs and Tests. The communication from my side was clear " "I was contacted one and a half hour before selection for Tests. The chief selector discussed with me the Test. Before the call ended I was told that the 5 selectors have decided that I won't be ODI captain anymore. There was no prior communication about this." Looks like one of them is right and other is lying...Who is telling the truth? Kohli has given out some details of how he was informed of his sacking to portray himself as a victim but what he has done to umpteen other cricketers pales in comparison. He must be a fool to think that throwing a crumb in the form of T20 captaincy would keep him safe from ODI captaincy. He could have held off on the resignation talk and led from the front in the T20WC. He failed to do that. Now there is no point in blaming anyone but himself for ignoring the writing on the wall. sarcastic and raki05 2
velu Posted December 15, 2021 Posted December 15, 2021 Dada was trying to give some honourable exit to Kohli mishra 1