urbestfriend Posted December 15, 2021 Posted December 15, 2021 Dada: "It's like I said… I personally requested him (Kohli) not to give up the T20I captaincy. Obviously, he felt the workload. Which is fine, he has been a great cricketer, he has been very intense with his cricket. He has captained for a long period of time and these things happen. Also, they wanted only one white-ball captain. And that's why this decision." Kohli: "When I told BCCI that I want to give up T20I captaincy, it was accepted really well. There was no hesitancy. I was told that it was a progressive step. I informed at that time that I would like to lead in ODIs and Tests. The communication from my side was clear " "I was contacted one and a half hour before selection for Tests. The chief selector discussed with me the Test. Before the call ended I was told that the 5 selectors have decided that I won't be ODI captain anymore. There was no prior communication about this." Looks like one of them is right and other is lying...Who is telling the truth? Chakdephatte, Banton, mishra and 1 other 1 3
Serpico Posted December 15, 2021 Posted December 15, 2021 Neither. Just two politicians twisting their stories so that they get all the sympathy Majestic and nevada 1 1
SRT100 Posted December 15, 2021 Posted December 15, 2021 I will always be proud and admire the way Ganguly stood up and took on Australia when he was captain back in the infamous test series of 2001. mishra 1
Majestic Posted December 15, 2021 Posted December 15, 2021 The obvious way of stating facts. Obviously, Ganguly and co weren't going to tell Kohli in person that if you leave T20 captaincy, you have to leave ODI too. They would have just stated to everyone that we don't want split captaincy in LOIs and somewhere in personal would be expecting a change in leadership.
neel roy Posted December 15, 2021 Posted December 15, 2021 Its plain and clear Kohli made a blunder. Where on earth will you have 2 captains for White Ball format. It has never happened before. Separate captains for int t20 s and odi s which are 90 perc times bunched together with tests.. 3 tests 3 t20s 3 odis So wouldnt it be crazy to have one captain on wednesday for last day of 3 test series. New captain for t20 on Saturday for start of t20 series and again back to old captain on the next Wednesday for first odi of the series..Kohli rohit kohli.. mazaak hai kya.. anil kapoor In Nayak.. ek din ka pm Number, New guy, mishra and 1 other 4
ravishingravi Posted December 15, 2021 Posted December 15, 2021 If I had to trust one of them, I would bet on the Dada. f20143g70, mishra and SRT100 1 2
SRT100 Posted December 15, 2021 Posted December 15, 2021 39 minutes ago, neel roy said: Its plain and clear Kohli made a blunder. Where on earth will you have 2 captains for White Ball format. It has never happened before. Separate captains for int t20 s and odi s which are 90 perc times bunched together with tests.. 3 tests 3 t20s 3 odis So wouldnt it be crazy to have one captain on wednesday for last day of 3 test series. New captain for t20 on Saturday for start of t20 series and again back to old captain on the next Wednesday for first odi of the series..Kohli rohit kohli.. mazaak hai kya.. anil kapoor In Nayak.. ek din ka pm You make it sound like T20I has been around for decades. Its been really only around since 2006 vs SA.
Bigg Brother Posted December 15, 2021 Posted December 15, 2021 The way Kohli left captaincy was atrocious. I would have lauded him had he left after T20 WC loss but he announced it beforehand with next T20 WC just next yr. Same with RCB. But I don't give a fuq about RCB though.
jalebi_bhai Posted December 15, 2021 Posted December 15, 2021 1 hour ago, neel roy said: Its plain and clear Kohli made a blunder. Where on earth will you have 2 captains for White Ball format. It has never happened before. Separate captains for int t20 s and odi s which are 90 perc times bunched together with tests.. 3 tests 3 t20s 3 odis So wouldnt it be crazy to have one captain on wednesday for last day of 3 test series. New captain for t20 on Saturday for start of t20 series and again back to old captain on the next Wednesday for first odi of the series..Kohli rohit kohli.. mazaak hai kya.. anil kapoor In Nayak.. ek din ka pm Except that it has, in Indian cricket itself. Mithali Raj is our Women's ODI captain and Harmanpreet is our T20I captain. Harman took over in 2016 and Raj played under her till her retirement in 2019. The precedent exists in Indian cricket.
dilliboy Posted December 15, 2021 Posted December 15, 2021 As if Dada is trustworthy at all.. ICFs blind hatred of Kohli is clouding their judgement upriser7 1
urbestfriend Posted December 15, 2021 Author Posted December 15, 2021 While I completely understand why Kohli is stripped off ODI captaincy, and it is a good move, probably it would've been handled in much better way by keeping Kohli in loop knowing very well about Kohli's ego. It is the prerogative of BCCI to chose the captain, but Kohli has done a good job captaining India in ODIs, and so this one way communication that he will be absolved of captaincy would've hurt him.
ravishingravi Posted December 15, 2021 Posted December 15, 2021 (edited) Actually I have come to the conclusion that Kohli will have to be removed. I don't think he can be allowed anywhere close to Indian team. He is far too much of distraction, too big an ego and he is involved in some funny toolkit like stuff which suggests that he has aligned himself in cultural and political war. I would not want any such influence around Indian team. He is dispensable. Edited December 15, 2021 by ravishingravi asterix, raki05, Tridibans_16 and 2 others 1 1 3
asterix Posted December 15, 2021 Posted December 15, 2021 No player can be bigger than the game, team or the organisation. Even if Kohli was wronged (things happen and it’s not a perfect World, Ashwin too might say he was wronged by Kohli), after this Press Conference, Kohli has to now go away. You can’t keep a Egomaniac having a combined Virushka Social Media army at bay. They’ll create lots of pressure on any of the successive Captain. Given his Toxic nature, it’s time now to initiate disciplinary investigations on him and then sack him from all formats. Austin 3:!6, ravishingravi, mishra and 3 others 2 4
Austin 3:!6 Posted December 15, 2021 Posted December 15, 2021 My point of view in this is simple...you cant have 2 white ball skippers. So from that point of view kohli is rightfully removed from captaincy. It also helped selectors that the alternative was Rohit who is a vastly superior leader. However, selectors should have had a proper chat with both of them rather than sacking him over the phone. It dosen't bore well for an ATG player like Kohli. The most important thing for Kohli now is to silence his critics with bat...score tons of runs to shut everyone. If he fails to do that I wont be surprised if Kohli fail to make it to 2023 team as a batsman as well. asterix and raki05 2
diga Posted December 15, 2021 Posted December 15, 2021 Quote "BCCI Chairman of Selectors Chetan Sharma to attend the press conference after 6 PM IST today." - According to PTI Picture abhi baki hain...
CodeOfWisden Posted December 15, 2021 Posted December 15, 2021 14 minutes ago, asterix said: Given his Toxic nature, it’s time now to initiate disciplinary investigations on him and then sack him from all formats. What's the case against him? Disciplinary investigations? Really?
prudent_kreeda Posted December 15, 2021 Posted December 15, 2021 1 hour ago, Ravi_Shastri said: It has England had cook, strauss and broad at the same time. 3 different captains for three formats For how long & how successful ?
goose Posted December 15, 2021 Posted December 15, 2021 Ganguly was probably trying to help Kohli save face by saying he wanted him to stay on as T20 captain, but no, Kohli insists it was received extremely well! raki05, AuxiliA, ravishingravi and 1 other 3 1
jf1gp_1 Posted December 15, 2021 Posted December 15, 2021 3 hours ago, urbestfriend said: Dada: "It's like I said… I personally requested him (Kohli) not to give up the T20I captaincy. Obviously, he felt the workload. Which is fine, he has been a great cricketer, he has been very intense with his cricket. He has captained for a long period of time and these things happen. Also, they wanted only one white-ball captain. And that's why this decision." Kohli: "When I told BCCI that I want to give up T20I captaincy, it was accepted really well. There was no hesitancy. I was told that it was a progressive step. I informed at that time that I would like to lead in ODIs and Tests. The communication from my side was clear " "I was contacted one and a half hour before selection for Tests. The chief selector discussed with me the Test. Before the call ended I was told that the 5 selectors have decided that I won't be ODI captain anymore. There was no prior communication about this." Looks like one of them is right and other is lying...Who is telling the truth? What rubbish. Jay Shah had publicly backed his captaincy when him stepping down was first reported. raki05 1
SK_IH Posted December 15, 2021 Posted December 15, 2021 I despise both individuals, power hungry maniacs & both least bothered about Indian cricket. raki05 1