Majestic Posted July 26, 2022 Posted July 26, 2022 Dhawan needs to be booted out then only Gill will debut. Till then, he will be third opener in ODIs. In Test, he is getting his chances with main players having injuries here and there. I think he should bat at 3 in Tests but it seems TM wants to give Vihari a fare run for that.
Chakdephatte Posted July 26, 2022 Posted July 26, 2022 What? 2019? Means we have successfully wasted three years of the brighest young batsman we had. Make it 5 if he takes two more to develop. MSK, you moron
nevada Posted July 26, 2022 Posted July 26, 2022 2 hours ago, Chakdephatte said: What? 2019? Means we have successfully wasted three years of the brighest young batsman we had. Make it 5 if he takes two more to develop. MSK, you moron MSK picked him in the squad. Kohli didn't pick him in the X1. express bowling 1
coffee_rules Posted July 26, 2022 Posted July 26, 2022 He has to quit uncanny ability of getting dismissed after a fluent start. Like the dil-scoop he tried against a medium pacer in the last match. That is reserved to only people with special talents like Pant. Frustrated, tweaker and express bowling 3
beetle Posted July 26, 2022 Posted July 26, 2022 Dravid has been teaching him from under 19 days...if he can't learn to ground his bat by now...then he is a bad learner. Frustrated and Sgattick10 1 1
prudent_kreeda Posted July 26, 2022 Posted July 26, 2022 Reasons- Tests - 1. playing at wrong position. Suited more for MO role , not opening. 2. Few weaknesses getting exploited by rival teams . Its very rare nowdays a youngster starts delivering from debut , Will require hard work to come up with counter plans and perfect it. mostly it takes 3-4 years of hardwork and also needs consistent chances even when not doing great in that phase . Look at babar, Markram, Pope, Green careers in initial years which come to mind. 3. Shot selection issues .- Needs maturity. 4. Has not shown the will to fight it out when pitch offers help esp, in India, In tests i was more disappointed by his play in Indian pitches offering turn. He is good player of spin but did not fight it out and score runs . 50 Overs - 1, Very few chances with long gaps . He will do well as an anchor in top 3 at run a ball type innings . Not suitable below that position & we need one batter in top 3 of that kind. 2. He will perform as good as present top 3 if given a continous run. This is very important now if he has to blossom in 50 overs . If Dravid can give him a slot in top 3 in all future 50 over matches in place of one of present top 3 , he will settle in . 3. Area he needs to develop is the game for 20-40 over of exploiting 4 man filed restriction by hitting in gaps & and getting more 2 s.as he is not Power hitter. T20s - Should not be considered for couple of years. nevada, Chakdephatte, sandeep and 3 others 1 5
vvvslaxman Posted July 26, 2022 Posted July 26, 2022 3 minutes ago, prudent_kreeda said: Reasons- Tests - 1. playing at wrong position. Suited more for MO role , not opening. 2. Few weaknesses getting exploited by rival teams . Its very rare nowdays a youngster starts delivering from debut , Will require hard work to come up with counter plans and perfect it. mostly it takes 3-4 years of hardwork and also needs consistent chances even when not doing great in that phase . Look at babar, Markram, Pope, Green careers in initial years which come to mind. 3. Shot selection issues .- Needs maturity. 4. Has not shown the will to fight it out when pitch offers help esp, in India, In tests i was more disappointed by his play in Indian pitches offering turn. He is good player of spin but did not fight it out and score runs . 50 Overs - 1, Very few chances with long gaps . He will do well as an anchor in top 3 at run a ball type innings . Not suitable below that position & we need one batter in top 3 of that kind. 2. He will perform as good as present top 3 if given a continous run. This is very important now if he has to blossom in 50 overs . If Dravid can give him a slot in top 3 in all future 50 over matches in place of one of present top 3 , he will settle in . 3. Area he needs to develop is the game for 20-40 over of exploiting 4 man filed restriction by hitting in gaps & and getting more 2 s.as he is not Power hitter. T20s - Should not be considered for couple of years. Actually that is one of this strength. He is quiet good at strike rotation. The other day problem was he had a few dot balls. He started becoming restless. You cannot lose patience after 4 or 5 dot balls. I agree his overall intent on rotating trike. But when that doesn't happen you cannot throw it away. Sgattick10 1
vvvslaxman Posted July 26, 2022 Posted July 26, 2022 He is a conscious batsman about dot balls. He is obviously working on it. There are days where he cannot find gaps. That is when he has to bide his time. https://sportscafe.in/cricket/articles/2022/apr/09/ipl-2022-trying-to-reduce-dot-balls-as-much-as-possible-reveals-shubman-gill
express bowling Posted July 26, 2022 Posted July 26, 2022 (edited) 1 hour ago, prudent_kreeda said: Reasons- Tests - 1. playing at wrong position. Suited more for MO role , not opening. 2. Few weaknesses getting exploited by rival teams . Its very rare nowdays a youngster starts delivering from debut , Will require hard work to come up with counter plans and perfect it. mostly it takes 3-4 years of hardwork and also needs consistent chances even when not doing great in that phase . Look at babar, Markram, Pope, Green careers in initial years which come to mind. 3. Shot selection issues .- Needs maturity. 4. Has not shown the will to fight it out when pitch offers help esp, in India, In tests i was more disappointed by his play in Indian pitches offering turn. He is good player of spin but did not fight it out and score runs . 50 Overs - 1, Very few chances with long gaps . He will do well as an anchor in top 3 at run a ball type innings . Not suitable below that position & we need one batter in top 3 of that kind. 2. He will perform as good as present top 3 if given a continous run. This is very important now if he has to blossom in 50 overs . If Dravid can give him a slot in top 3 in all future 50 over matches in place of one of present top 3 , he will settle in . 3. Area he needs to develop is the game for 20-40 over of exploiting 4 man filed restriction by hitting in gaps & and getting more 2 s.as he is not Power hitter. T20s - Should not be considered for couple of years. Lots of good points and agree with most except 2 1) I think he will be more of a dashing starter in ODIs rather than a sheet anchor. Gill likes to play lots of strokes against pacer bowlers bowling with the new ball ... and with minimal swing on offer in most ODIs, he is likely to give a brisk start. 2) T20Is ... he is not ready yet but things may change after the next IPL. Not a certainty but the possibility is there that he adapts really well to this format in IPL 2023. We saw signs of that in this year's IPL but did not materialize. Edited July 26, 2022 by express bowling Sgattick10, prudent_kreeda and Mosher 3
putrevus Posted July 27, 2022 Posted July 27, 2022 (edited) On 7/25/2022 at 3:44 PM, sandeep said: so what are Lord Putrevus's criteria that would have to be satisfied in order for him to "cement his place"? These 2 ODIs that he has played gainst Windies, what is Lord Putrevus' verdict thus far? Unlike you who keeps blaming captain and coach for players failures.I thinks selectors have done their jobs if they give chances to a players in one or two formats.Gill's failures/injuries have led to Rahul's test career revival.Now Rahul injuries have chances to Gill. So far in both odi's it is inconclusive.He will get his chances till Rohit and Rahul comeback. Nobody is asking him to dropped or not given chances in any format. MY point which is applicatbale to all young players IMO he will be more like 90s/2000s opener in odis than these bashers from England.I don't know if he ever can become Jonny type of Odi opener. Is it his fault he is saddled with Dhawan in this series , no but I have seen enough of Gill to know unless he changes his style dramatically, he will never be a fast starter. What I am against is giving youngsters chances in all formats without ever proving themselves atleast in one format. So Gilll not getting selected consistently in odis is not a selection mistake. He has played 10 plus test and is WIP in that format. Edited July 27, 2022 by putrevus sandeep 1
wanted_desi Posted July 27, 2022 Posted July 27, 2022 Lol people hating on Gill, and calling him Slow as an opener. If Kohli played similar innings in last 3 matches, same people would have been calling King is Back slogans. Last opening batsman who was Dasher was Sehwag and maybe Shaw is another one. Likes of Ishan are Hacks! express bowling, Sgattick10, sandeep and 1 other 4
putrevus Posted July 27, 2022 Posted July 27, 2022 Why do some morons keeping bringing Kohli into every discussion. He is done and is history move on from him. beetle 1
wanted_desi Posted July 27, 2022 Posted July 27, 2022 (edited) Morons are who think someone playing his 5th ODI would be playing at SR of 120+, otherwise he is not your modern ODI batsman. Gill is as much young modern ODI batsman you will get in India in today's date. Edited July 27, 2022 by wanted_desi express bowling and Lord 1 1
vvvslaxman Posted July 27, 2022 Posted July 27, 2022 During under-19 world cup , Gill's batting was heavily influenced by Rahul Dravid. He got into the habit of going after every ball. He guided him into a becoming a better percentage cricketer. I bet he is playing a similar role here. He pretty sure considers him as a big innings player not cameo player. As he attains his peak, Gill will improve his scoring rate. sandeep and cowboysfan 2
Norman Posted July 28, 2022 Posted July 28, 2022 Well there you go.. Man of the series in his first full ODI series and then there are delusional Kohli fanboys who try to put him down. Austin 3:!6, express bowling, Lord and 1 other 1 3
Majestic Posted July 28, 2022 Posted July 28, 2022 Gill 's strike rate in this series was 102 while Dhawan was 84. Tells us enough that if Gill has the game to accelerate and score fast or not. Chakdephatte and Sgattick10 1 1
prudent_kreeda Posted July 28, 2022 Posted July 28, 2022 On 7/26/2022 at 11:35 PM, express bowling said: Lots of good points and agree with most except 2 1) I think he will be more of a dashing starter in ODIs rather than a sheet anchor. Gill likes to play lots of strokes against pacer bowlers bowling with the new ball ... and with minimal swing on offer in most ODIs, he is likely to give a brisk start. Agree he plays some great shots against pace esp on onside with short arm jabs , very good pull shot , some down the ground shots , even cover drive . Due to very good pull and short arm jabs he can score against shortish, back of length deliveries too. But problem starts from 15-40 overs period and ball becomes softer. As of now , he is not guy who can suddenly change gear and hit sixes frequently . His shots are predictable based on length of the ball like a drive to wide mid on , a straight drive , a pull and mostly along the ground most of the time . Thus with good field placement and consistent bowling can restrict him to ones & twos. Thus overall he may be more like a run a ball kind of player. I thought we saw this already in 3rd one day where he could not change gear . This is where he needs to improve so that his strike rate goes up in 15-40 overs phase. 2) T20Is ... he is not ready yet but things may change after the next IPL. Not a certainty but the possibility is there that he adapts really well to this format in IPL 2023. We saw signs of that in this year's IPL but did not materialize. For me , he needs to be in top 5 among young Test players in next 3 years.once he succeeds in Test cricket ,50 overs would become much easier . My fear is if he is also selected fot T20 tamasha now, his game will get messed up and we may lose a bright test player. Edited Tuesday at 06:06 PM by express bowling express bowling and Chakdephatte 2
Chakdephatte Posted July 28, 2022 Posted July 28, 2022 On 7/26/2022 at 9:16 PM, beetle said: Dravid has been teaching him from under 19 days...if he can't learn to ground his bat by now...then he is a bad learner. No one teaches you how to build an innings. No one.