Rishabh Pant is not a natural keeper, needs to work really hard: Ravi Shastri

nevada

6 hours ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

In an ideal world this couple of shastri n kohli shudnt have been incharge of loi team post 2019 wc but that didnt happen and that is the root cause of all problems

now the only hope is Ganguly.  He always had the best interests of India in mind. He wouldn't allow these sorts of  non senses for too long  for sure

7 minutes ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

its not unrealistic , he is one of the best talent seen thats why expectation

In IPL his franchises lets him be himself which helps him score runs n be in confidence

the best thing happened to rahul was getting away from this TM

To add, even international teams judge/reward many of their players on IPL performances 

15 hours ago, putrevus said:

Nothing wrong with the statement,Shastri is coach so he is giving his opinion.Pant has been the  keeper in short formats since world cup and it was his  postion to lose and he lost it. Pant did not do anything to lose is test keeping slot, I would still make him the test keeper.

Since when do coaches criticize young talent in public? Isnt their job to help young players improve? You are getting more and more pathetic and illogical with your arguments now. And of course despite people pointing out that Pant performed well in his last t20 series and didnt deserve to be dropped you ignore and keep parroting lies

On 1/25/2020 at 10:07 PM, Autonomous said:

So unprofessional. 

You will rarely see any current aussie or english coach saying stuff like this about an active player. 

But I think it runs like this in desis we are usually negative and vocal about criticism, from parenting to coaching we are total duds. 

This is a regression for india, we had moved on to an almost professional era from Ganguly onwards till 2011 WC, since then the old unprofessionalism has crept back in and now an egotist, too-powerful captain is running amok. But saner voices are speaking up and hopefully the slide will be arrested soon.

24 minutes ago, Cricwala said:

This is a regression for india, we had moved on to an almost professional era from Ganguly onwards till 2011 WC, since then the old unprofessionalism has crept back in and now an egotist, too-powerful captain is running amok. But saner voices are speaking up and hopefully the slide will be arrested soon.

It's because Shastri doesnt see coaching as purely a cricketing job. His goal isnt only to provide the best cricketing output for the team. 

He is fighting political battles here, saving his own skin now that Dada is in charge, negotiating with Dhoni for his retirement etc. He is acting like a power broker more than  a coach.

On 1/26/2020 at 10:38 AM, raki05 said:

It's an akmal level keeping.

Dhoni was the worst keeper against pace, among those who played significant length of time,india ever had. Completely flat footed, hardly ever dived, stayed too deep (playing safe and understanding TV angles). He was complete anti-thesis of a 'natural' WK.

Pant has definite scope of improvement as WK, but this clown TM should just drop the guy and let him play with A team, FC if they think both his batting and keeping are so poor as to merit constant criticism.

I bet these idiots will be scrambling to include pant if we lose first test by close margin and Saha fails to get a significant score, assuming Saha is fully fit for first test and TM shows balls to stick to their preferred XI.

If i were pants family, i would have spoken up against these jerks in TM by now...pant is better off not being near national setup till the time bevda & rat are around. He will anyway make enough money through IPL, and it's time to break the public silence around the utter mishandling of young players by Kohli and his cheerleader..well wishers of KL, Kuldeep, Gill all should speak up and expose Rat. Don't trust BCCI clubbies, cynical old coots like bakwaskar to do the moral & ethical thing.

On 1/26/2020 at 3:30 AM, putrevus said:

No, but he is scoring runs and is providing that balance this side needs. Why is it wrong for a coach to comment on what player needs to do. There is nothing wrong in a young player going back to domestic cricket to improve his game either.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

There is a saying - praise in public and criticize in private. That's a basic principle of man management, if Sastry doesn't understand that then he doesn't deserve that position and the paycheck. What they are doing to Pant is deplorable. Pant's keeping is definitely not upto the mark, and his batting lacks composure, so yea he has a long way to go. But these are the things that a coach is expected to help him with, not ridicule in public and break his confidence. If Sastri and Kohli doesn't not rate Pant, then that's fine because there are very distinct improvement areas for Pant but what is undeniable is his fearlessness and clean hitting ability which is key in international cricket particularly on T20. If for some reason they believe that Pant's batting needs more work, then why don't they work with him, facilitate him more first class or A team matches rather than putting him in bench as a reserve keeper for a LOI squad where he is continuously being told that he is not good enough without really giving him a chance to improve his play. And it is very evident , that they are going to give him this step motherly treatment without any roadmap for his development.

3 hours ago, RajBan said:

There is a saying - praise in public and criticize in private. That's a basic principle of man management, if Sastry doesn't understand that then he doesn't deserve that position and the paycheck. What they are doing to Pant is deplorable. Pant's keeping is definitely not upto the mark, and his batting lacks composure, so yea he has a long way to go. But these are the things that a coach is expected to help him with, not ridicule in public and break his confidence. If Sastri and Kohli doesn't not rate Pant, then that's fine because there are very distinct improvement areas for Pant but what is undeniable is his fearlessness and clean hitting ability which is key in international cricket particularly on T20. If for some reason they believe that Pant's batting needs more work, then why don't they work with him, facilitate him more first class or A team matches rather than putting him in bench as a reserve keeper for a LOI squad where he is continuously being told that he is not good enough without really giving him a chance to improve his play. And it is very evident , that they are going to give him this step motherly treatment without any roadmap for his development.

Shastri is a perfect example of empty vessel making the most noise.

I don't think I ever head an interview with John Wright or Gary Kirsten or for the matter of fact even Fletcher.

Chappell too didn't get along with the media and only spoke out after his tenure.

All 4 of them have way more cred than this drunk cheerleader.

On 1/26/2020 at 6:09 AM, Vijy said:

only akmal could keep at the level of akmal. he was one-of-a-kind: kind of an anti-bradman.

Hey, no slagging off of Akmal, please! He also had some most-dismissals kind of keeping record for a while.

(Note: This is just a dig at those who keep bringing up that Pant has some most dismissals record. Akmal is, and has always been, utterly sh**. Pant is only rubbish because he is playing in the same era as Saha, there are quite a few similarly rubbish keepers - *cough* Jos Buttler *cough* Lorcan Tucker *cough* Regis Chakabva *cough* Mohammad Shahzad *cough* - going around.)

6 hours ago, RajBan said:

There is a saying - praise in public and criticize in private. That's a basic principle of man management, if Sastry doesn't understand that then he doesn't deserve that position and the paycheck.

He understands it alright.

Have we heard a single word of criticism against Dhoni, Kohli, Jadhav, Thakur, Dhawan, Rohit, Rahane  etc. !!

It is only the young players without backing that they are after.

6 hours ago, RajBan said:

What they are doing to Pant is deplorable. Pant's keeping is definitely not upto the mark, and his batting lacks composure, so yea he has a long way to go. But these are the things that a coach is expected to help him with, not ridicule in public and break his confidence. If Sastri and Kohli doesn't not rate Pant, then that's fine because there are very distinct improvement areas for Pant but what is undeniable is his fearlessness and clean hitting ability which is key in international cricket particularly on T20. If for some reason they believe that Pant's batting needs more work, then why don't they work with him, facilitate him more first class or A team matches rather than putting him in bench as a reserve keeper for a LOI squad where he is continuously being told that he is not good enough without really giving him a chance to improve his play. And it is very evident , that they are going to give him this step motherly treatment without any roadmap for his development.

Reasons have to be " developed "  as to why Dhoni was persisted with in the last 2 years despite being obviously below par.

Bewda and TM seems determined to squash Pant's career. Abe ghochu, were you a natural ODI batsman? Your tuk tuk was so notorious that it made the crowd chant "Shastri hai hai." I did not hear Gavaskar or Kapil or Azhar say that you were not a natural stroke maker and needed to improve your hitting or else ...

While it is true that Pant needs to improve his keeping, but watching him in England and Australia, he seemed OK for a rookie. And he scored a test ton on Aussie soil. Tu kya kiya bhainc**t? I think putting out all these out in the media is setting up Pant to fail when he should be groomed and nurtured. Do you want him to suck your shriveled cok? 

:facepalm:

Edited by Audiophile

Send him back to play Ranji Trophy you f****g b******s Kohli and Shastri. You have kept him in the team all this while denying him the opportunity to play away from media attention to work on his game. And to make it worse, you have abused him publicly first for not being a good enough batsman and now for being a poor keeper.

If he is a poor keeper, why the f*** you can't select anyone else? 

Earlier these two lose jerks their jobs, better it is for Indian cricket. And in case, these two try to claim credit for success of Rahul and Iyer, someone should slap them properly.

17 hours ago, rkt.india said:

Had Dhoni announced his retirement, nothing of this sort would have happened. Hurting team interests even without playing.

That is not Dhoni's problem.He has right to retire when he wants to quit.TM and selectors should be kicked out if he is selected again to play for India in any format.