How do you describe this inning - 37 (59) when RRR is over 15?

7 minutes ago, jf1gp_1 said:

Body failing mind, its just sad to see him struggle. At his peak he could have won us the match on his own, yesterday was a rude reminder why we need to look beyond. Not saying other will transform this middle order but i know Dhoni wont. He is still the best ODI batsman we have produced but sadly time is no longer with him.

Yup many fans dont intend to be disrespectful to him,but its all in a players  own map to figure out when should he call it a time,he was one of the great match winners India has produced,but he is attracting all the wrath by just being selfish ,here for the sake of the team and its future he should have called it off back in 2015 , when he really started to struggle to put bat on ball..Had that happened he could have garnered all the respect from many fans but he is delaying it,even it could have given the management time to groom a youngster(someone else too)..but water has flown past the bridge,no time left,i can forsee India being humbled once again in the knockouts of Wc 19..

Just now, Shunya said:

ekdum bakwaas innings by Dhoni...go slow at the start to get set is not helping in big chases...

but then what is the overreaction about... we lost not because dhoni played at slow rate, but because none of the batsman could play till the end in chase of 300+...funny how everyone is expecting us to just roll over this English side in every single match... this was classic England game where they pummelled 300+ score and then chipped away with all batsman due to scoreboard pressure... 

last game should be fun..

That's the excuse most Dhoni fans come up with when he does his usual slow poke innings, which he does all the time these days. If it weren't for Bhuvaneshwar we'd have lost that ODI when Akila ran through the top order. What was he doing then, practicing for the next ODI? Kumar hit those boundaries otherwise the end would've been the same as today!

Edited by R!TTER
Dhoni is a dumb guy, he wll never believe that hovering around with strike rate 50 just to take the game at the end  while chasing  big totals against quality attack is horrendous approach, no point in sticking around with this has been should be  kicked out permanently, we can still groom dk or pant to 2019wc
On top of that it adds pressure on the other batsmen as they are forced to take even more risks than required.

He approaches every innings like there is only one wicket left and only he can win the match. I could understand if he was the only star batsman in the team, which is not the case.

It worked in the past even though it was a crazy approach but he doesn't have the game anymore.

Sent from my Redmi Note 4 using Tapatalk

3 hours ago, wanted_desi said:

Dhoni is going to play similar type of Inning in World Cup Knock out stage. This guy is just not capable of playing at this level anymore, he is just milking the Indian Cricket system as long as he can to get more $$$$. I don't even get mad at this point of Innings like this. People should just walk out of the ground next time he comes to bat. 

Yeh ho chuka hai. In the 2015 WC Semi, he came in with the required RR slightly above 8 but chugged along for around 50 balls with a SR in the mid-80s. Once the required RR went past 15 and the game was completely out of reach, he hit a couple of useless sixes to finish with a SR of 100 and was hailed as a lone warrior :cantstop:.

12 minutes ago, Sgattick10 said:

I stopped watching after Dhoni came to bat, thats the kind of credibility Dhoni has right now, I dont expect him to win any matches for us. Cant believe he is ruining his legacy by turning fans into non fans and haters... is money more important then respect?? Sad.

Very true,he epitomizes defeatist mindset now,saala pata nahi kya soch ke dot pe dot khel raha hota hai 

I think last year only he played a epic innings in WI that was quite disgraceful,now this 

9 minutes ago, Jimmy Cliff said:

Yeh ho chuka hai. In the 2015 WC Semi, he came in with the required RR slightly above 8 but chugged along for around 50 balls with a SR in the mid-80s. Once the required RR went past 15 and the game was completely out of reach, he hit a couple of useless sixes to finish with a SR of 100 and was hailed as a lone warrior :cantstop:.

That's his strategy  post 11 WC however it's more evident post WC 15 where he started playing for his stats and AVG without worrying about match outcome. But we still have cheerleader commie and fans who defends him saying look at his AVG and SR in past 2-3 years.

7 minutes ago, raki05 said:

That's his strategy  post 11 WC however it's more evident post WC 15 where he started playing for his stats and AVG without worrying about match outcome. But we still have cheerleader commie and fans who defends him saying look at his AVG and SR in past 2-3 years.

His SR has been in the 80s since 2015 WC. It's in the 70s while chasing in the same period. Only Rahane has a worse SR among our batters. 

Avg. is healthy (46) but skewed since he collects a lot of not outs. While chasing, it has dropped down to 35 from around 50 despite his not outs. 

46 minutes ago, raki05 said:

He could average close to infinity thanks to his not outs but as long as his SR is stuck in mid-80s, he will have little to no impact. His best hope is to have scenarios like when the top order completely fails so that he can express himself (like the first ODI against SL last year in Dharamsala) or when he's chasing sub-par totals. His batting is pretty much useless otherwise.

Edited by Jimmy Cliff
57 minutes ago, raki05 said:

That's his strategy  post 11 WC however it's more evident post WC 15 where he started playing for his stats and AVG without worrying about match outcome. But we still have cheerleader commie and fans who defends him saying look at his AVG and SR  in past 2-3 years.

Dhoni has a SR of 84 in ODIs in the last 3 years.  For reference,  our other finishers, Pandya and Kedar, have SRs  of 115 and 110 respectively in this 3 year period.

It means that, in the age of regular 300+ totals requiring innings SRs of 100+ ...  the finisher who is supposed to prop up the run rate in the later stages with  higher than innings SRs , is bringing it down significantly.  That too for a 3 year period atleast and not just a short bad patch.

http://stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/engine/stats/index.html?class=2;filter=advanced;orderby=batting_strike_rate;qualmin1=300;qualval1=runs;size=150;spanmin1=14+Jul+2015;spanval1=span;team=6;template=results;type=batting

Edited by express bowling
10 hours ago, Pollack said:

Lol Is there ever India lost because of dhoni for dhoni fans? 

No, India never lost because of Dhoni. Neither did we lose because of another single player. They played badly and lost. Simple.

And seems like you are overly interested in what dhoni fans say then actually how India plays. 

11 hours ago, SK_IH said:

You are overrating the chase ,you look at that NatWest final game was lost at 150-5 but still the mindset was to win and they did,Dhoni played with a loser mindset 

I am telling if Eng find themselves in similar trouble they will take the game deep with more proactive batting

These situations have been a cause of worry vis a vis MSD,it has come to pass once again today

Agreed, its a big concern with this approach. Need to change

10 hours ago, Laaloo said:

You're asking the guy who says India lost those two t20s against Zimbabwe because of others and dhoni wasn't the only reason. :rotfl: there is no reasoning with thalaiva sycopanths. They are happy with IPL. Leave them be.

What are you on about?

And what is this new word thalaiva sycopanths? Are we allowed to write whatever s.h.it we want?