The Death of ODI Cricket

Yes, building and pacing the inning is gone. There is no reverse swing, no spin, and no soft ball, along with 20 overs of powerplay. Issue is further effed by flat wickets

Right now odi is just waste of time as it offers nothing different then t20 match has to offer. So either ban this format or go back to old odi system which was working and got fans to ground or GH lued them to tele.

When there is no skill needed then you will lose the challenge to play hard cricket.

People made fun of Ajmal, Ajantha Mendis etc. But if you make it hell for bowlers and remove all their advantages including not allowing to spit shine the ball, then you need to allow them to at least chuck to get back their edge.

If the game is going to be so batsman friendly it zaps the fun out of everything. Already in Dubai they are doing the 10 over format of the game where Gayle scored 100 or something.

If this is what cricket has become like the good old Hong Kong Super Sixes with tennis ball, we might as well get bowling machines to bowl as there is no fun to be a bowler. Seeing Krunal pandya bowling bouncers out of desperation was sad to see no matter if he has the talent or not is irrelevant.

This is happening in all SENA and Asian countries now all high scoring games with nothing for bowlers.

Hotstar has had 60-70 lakh unique viewers for each match. That's just on the app. On TV, the viewership will be in crores (Star Sports + Doordarshan). See the sucess of these apps like Dream11 and MPL with 7-8 cr subscribers.

All these reports of ODI cricket dying in India have always sounded hogwash. If viewers were turning away, businesses will not pour in billions into broadcast rights and sponsorships.

2 minutes ago, ShoonyaSifar said:

Hotstar has had 60-70 lakh unique viewers for each match. That's just on the app. On TV, the viewership will be in crores (Star Sports + Doordarshan). See the sucess of these apps like Dream11 and MPL with 7-8 cr subscribers.

All these reports of ODI cricket dying in India have always sounded hogwash. If viewers were turning away, businesses will not pour in billions into broadcast rights and sponsorships.

Good point. The average cricket watcher's tastes and ICF'ers tastes are vastly different. The way things are right now, our stars can score hundreds and boost their image, consistently get to the semifinals stage and despite losses at this point, all is forgiven when a few personal landmarks are hit during bilateral series. There's also the IPL for timepass. The average viewer, who thinks Dhoni is still good enough and should make a comeback, is happily lapping up the entertainment thus served. So nothing will change anytime soon.

29 minutes ago, nevada said:

Good point. The average cricket watcher's tastes and ICF'ers tastes are vastly different. The way things are right now, our stars can score hundreds and boost their image, consistently get to the semifinals stage and despite losses at this point, all is forgiven when a few personal landmarks are hit during bilateral series. There's also the IPL for timepass. The average viewer, who thinks Dhoni is still good enough and should make a comeback, is happily lapping up the entertainment thus served. So nothing will change anytime soon.

If india plays any format it still has major eyeballs but since advent of t20 cricket i see a lot less ott reactions from cricket watchers compared to pre ipl. these bilaterals were taken way more seriously a decade and a half ago as there was no other format that people watched. that attention has now got split between an extra format of the game and a month long ipl every year. the flip side is those multiple team tournaments which were quite memorable in odi cricket have disappeared and it's just another meaningless game largely outside of icc tournaments.

Edited by rollingstoned
5 hours ago, ShoonyaSifar said:

I said "slow painful death" already we saw Bumrah, Shami etc. Show no interest in playing ODI's as they know it will shorten their careers.

Then you have someone like Hardik refusing to bowl to preserve his T20 career.

Then you have talents like Rashid Khan, ABD, Pollard etc. No longer showing interest in ODI format and playing more league games.

Eventually if top players are gone from the format and it becomes so batsman friendly then people will slowly stop watching it. It's just that we in ICF have a better understanding of future that's all.

It's pathetic that Krunal Pandya, kuldeep will get their careers cut short with this. I am sure even guys like Bhuvi will breakdown in such conditions of "containment" rather than creatively putting pressure and taking wickets.

Edited by BlueBlood
1 hour ago, BlueBlood said:

I said "slow painful death" already we saw Bumrah, Shami etc. Show no interest in playing ODI's as they know it will shorten their careers.

Then you have someone like Hardik refusing to bowl to preserve his T20 career.

Then you have talents like Rashid Khan, ABD, Pollard etc. No longer showing interest in ODI format and playing more league games.

Eventually if top players are gone from the format and it becomes so batsman friendly then people will slowly stop watching it. It's just that we in ICF have a better understanding of future that's all.

It's pathetic that Krunal Pandya, kuldeep will get their careers cut short with this. I am sure even guys like Bhuvi will breakdown in such conditions of "containment" rather than creatively putting pressure and taking wickets.

Your post is so full of misinformation.

Bumrah is missing due to his marriage, Shami due to injury and  not due to not willing to play ODIs. 

ABD played 200+ ODIs, quit international cricket due to quota system of SA, Pollard is the WI ODI captain, Rashid Khan has played every single ODI Afghanistan has played.

Try better examples 

2 hours ago, ShoonyaSifar said:

Your post is so full of misinformation.

Bumrah is missing due to his marriage, Shami due to injury and  not due to not willing to play ODIs. 

ABD played 200+ ODIs, quit international cricket due to quota system of SA, Pollard is the WI ODI captain, Rashid Khan has played every single ODI Afghanistan has played.

Try better examples 

Bumrah is missing due to marriage but his wife is in the studio other day. Who is he having honeymoon with ?

21 hours ago, BlueBlood said:

When was the last time you watched an entire ODI game?

The last one I recall was WC Semi final where Dhoni and Jadeja couldn't take us home.

I just watch highlights now as 8 hours is too much as it is and it's becoming too predictable with the pathetic new ball change at 35 overs eliminating reverse swing and spinners.

If this is how ODI cricket continues as an extended version of T20 then all old batting records will be broken and ODI cricket will die a slow painful death.

I think with the way things are going with BBL, IPL and other leagues, supremely talented once in a generation players will have shorter international careers with such workload and just becoming T20 specialists and not play ODI's.

I think unless some major catalyst is there, ODI cricket is dead in my opinion. We already saw with Iyer and Rohit Sharma getting injured as they are unable to keep up with the crazy schedules.

Test cricket at least has different elements such as players getting tired, pitch changing daily and players losing concentration in one session.

T20'S We already know that when underdogs like Afghanistan has the same chance to win a game as top team like South Africa, there will always be excitement and interest as an upset can happen in just one over.

Do you feel the same way?

Also if the ODI is in India and there are two good teams playing 8 out of 10 times the chasing team will win due to dew. So toss becomes very important. In previous years due to one ball this was a bit negated as ball started to reverse and fielding restrictions were on so spinners used to come to play.. so a good start did not always guarantee a win.. easy examples: 1996 w cup qtr final in postage stamp size chinaswamy, 2011 semi final in mohali.. pakistan got good start but spinners and reverse swing derailed the chase.. another example is the South Africa choke against India in 2004 champions trophy.. all these were possible as the ball was old and pitch started to grip and spinners couldnt be hit out of park without fear of being caught..