Tokyo 2020 Paralympics: Record 19 medals thus far!!!! Amazing

I think the best part of Neeraj's win is that the barrier has been breached. Ppl know that winning and winning big is possible for an Indian. Wish it could have been earlier - I think it would have given the entire squad a fillip - but to end the season with that elusive gold is almost just as amazing. 

Well done to all the athletes! Here's to many more successes heading their way. Jai Hind! :isalute:

I hope now the days of cricket being No.1 sport in India are over. Its an irrelevant sport anyway with only 3-4 decent teams and winning World Cup means almost nothing and test cricket is an outdated game which is too long and unsustainable. Lot of time is being wasted on this sport by youngsters. Better focus on hockey, badminton, track and field, swimming etc. 

3 minutes ago, kubrickian said:

I hope now the days of cricket being No.1 sport in India are over. Its an irrelevant sport anyway with only 3-4 decent teams and winning World Cup means almost nothing and test cricket is an outdated game which is too long and unsustainable. Lot of time is being wasted on this sport by youngsters. Better focus on hockey, badminton, track and field, swimming etc. 

People keep bringing Cricket in this thread demeaning the sport. Why are you on this forum then!

3 minutes ago, rkt.india said:

People keep bringing Cricket in this thread demeaning the sport. Why are you on this forum then!

Exactly I don't get it. If I disliked any particular Sport , last thing that I would do is join a   Forum dedicated to that  Sport and bash it. 

It's okay nobody has to like the same thing. Stop watching Cricket, leave this forum, it's easy. 

Edited by javier26
Just now, rkt.india said:

Same thing happens after winning an exciting test match, T20s and ODIs get gaalis.

Edited by MechEng
3 minutes ago, rkt.india said:

It is what it is. I cant help if it hurts your feelings. 

7 minutes ago, kubrickian said:

Nowhere in world Athletics has taken the place of spectator friendly team sports .Football , Cricket , baseball , American football , rugby , basketball etc. Atleast one of these sport have mass following in almost every country.  Only one team sport can take the place of other.

3 minutes ago, Singh bling said:

Nowhere in world Athletics has taken the place of spectator friendly team sports .Football , Cricket , baseball , American football , rugby , basketball etc. Atleast one of these sport have mass following in almost every country.  Only one team sport can take the place of other.

Soccer and hockey should have at least as much importance as cricket, if not more. Those two sports are proper global sports whereas cricket is barely played by a handful of good teams. This unhealthy obsession over cricket is not good for a country like India because that would mean much less attention on other sports which leads to pathetic performance on the world stage in those sports.

Edited by kubrickian
8 hours ago, Gollum said:

This will be a difficult pill to swallow for me, much like our hockey results. Aditi was so good, so clutch, just a matter of millimeters in the end. How she punched above her weight for 4 consecutive days, against the world's elite. Korda is world number one, the Kiwi golfer former number one, Japanese had home advantage, probably very familiar with this course. 

But top 3 well and truly deserve their medals. Can't say the same about some of the hockey teams that finished above us :wall: 

Don't know much about this sport but a 200th ranked player shouldn't really play like this, day after day. Aditi is just 23, from a country with no real golf/sports culture, hope to see her rise up the rankings in coming years. Golf is super fun especially when Indians are playing lol. 

Anyone who loves test cricket will like watching golf too .

Indians/Thais dominate the Asian tour and I think we have produced quite a few world class talents in Jeev,Atwal,Lahiri and Bullar . We start with a disadvantage, as most Indian golfers spend few years in India, then Asian circuit, then the Europen tour and by the time they make it to PGA they are already in their 30s up against lot of players who are much more familiar with local goal courses, it's a pretty big factor in Golf just like playing cricket home/away matches . Japanese for eg have their own tour which is pretty big and that's gives their players very early access to PGA, similarly we need the Indian tour to become bigger and it has happened to an extent . I don't think we are very far off from having a Top 3/5 golfer from India. 

24 minutes ago, kubrickian said:

dont watch cricket. dont come here. go watch whatever you want then. Dude cricket will be popular in india regardless. Yes we should divert our attention to other sports. Until funding increases, cricket will always be the most popular sport. 

8 minutes ago, kubrickian said:

Soccer and hockey should have at least as much importance as cricket, if not more. Those two sports are proper global sports whereas cricket is barely played by a handful of good teams. This unhealthy obsession over cricket is not good for a country like India because that would mean much less attention on other sports which leads to pathetic performance on the world stage in those sports.

Cricket is a barely there sport on global level.

If we plan properly we can become a hockey powerhouse with the best team and the best professional league.

9 minutes ago, kubrickian said:

Urban Indian middle class children madly follow European football leagues atleast in Delhi NCR . Hockey has been trying so far to catch eyeballs but still is not successful. Cricket especially T20 has lots of potential  to spread in many nations.

36 minutes ago, kubrickian said:

Please delete your user and stop posting in this forum them it's a cricket fan forum right.. 

38 minutes ago, kubrickian said:

If you look at the bigger picture Sports itself is a time waste. 

I"ll prefer a cricketer over Olympic medalist, he gets way more fame and riches. 

Indian government has promised 75 lakhs to neeraj and haryana government a whooping 6 crores. He is also getting a brand new XUV 700 from mahindra and a category 1 government job

2 minutes ago, New guy said:

Indian government has promised 75 lakhs to neeraj and haryana government a whooping 6 crores. He is also getting a brand new XUV 700 from mahindra and a category 1 government job

and 1 crore from BCCI

5 minutes ago, Trichromatic said:

and 1 crore from BCCI

Yes he would get more and many sponsors. I just hope our almost misses are not neglected,  women hockey and aditi need encouragement.