Rohit Sharma out of South Africa Series

neel roy

6 minutes ago, neel roy said:

because we already have a back up opener in attacking types like Gill, Shaw was not chosen. Also he is iffy against seam and swing at start of the innings… panchal is just for show. If push comes to shove TM will shoehorn Vihari or pujara in top 2

Also we need KL to finally have a great overseas series..  It's about time.  Kolli should be relieved that spin would be minimal in SA.  I hope he is good enough for at least couple of clutch 50's.  Pant need to repeat his heroics in Australia.  Centurion is as similar as MCG or Adelaide to an extent.  Both slow down on day 4/5.  We should not lose there at any cost.  Ashwin has to step up as the venue offers some help compared to Cape town n Joburg.

8 minutes ago, Lone Wolf said:

Also we need KL to finally have a great overseas series..  It's about time.  Kolli should be relieved that spin would be minimal in SA.  I hope he is good enough for at least couple of clutch 50's.  Pant need to repeat his heroics in Australia.  Centurion is as similar as MCG or Adelaide to an extent.  Both slow down on day 4/5.  We should not lose there at any cost.  Ashwin has to step up as the venue offers some help compared to Cape town n Joburg.

the key will be lower order runs. After the ball gets old it becomes much easier to play in south africa. Very rare occassions its bad for batting even in day 5 ( except for the last test in 2018 I have rarely have seen day 5 becoming bad ). Capetown 2011 test india saved easily batting out the last day, Srilanka beat saf chasing 4th innings, it was india who faltered in last series unable to chase 200 plus in two tests. So we definitely need good innings from shardul and ashwin and tailenders. 

Rohit " Come to India " Sharma, reminds me of my neighbours kid, he used to fall sick before every history exam in School. Next Sena tour Rohit will go out and eat a dozen Vada Pav, and then complain, Mummy Pet dard ho raha hai... SENA NAHI JANA! :egg:

Tough away series and conveniently injured. Like I said he is not fit enough to be india captain no pun intended.

he carries excess weight and is generally in bad shape for modern cricketer. 

with Virat, unless he was rested, he was usually available. Very fit and the continuity is important when captain

Rohit sharma fitness level is lol worthy. I have never seen a top level batsman as unfit as Rohit. How he going to lead India with this kind of fitness level is remain to be seen. 

Dhoni in his playing days used to be super fit athelete and so is kohli. And now we have a future captain like Rohit, a 35 years old man, made of glass and he is going to win us 2023 WC! Lol. It would be a miracle, if he remained fit throughout the world cup.

1 hour ago, Chakdephatte said:

Feel Kohli's captaincy record will have a dip now. Rohit won us one test in England and performed in others too, Gill one in Australia, Washington performed in pressure for three matches straight. These three will be missed. Plus I don't expect Bumrah to save us every series and Siraj for the third series in a row.

Washington was supposedly injured but he is playing the Vijay Hazare trophy, which means he is fit. Don't know why he wasn't picked in the squad for the SA series.

1 hour ago, ShoonyaSifar said:

:hatsoff:

Unsolicited advice. You should put in your application to join the Kohli PR. Wasting your talent posting such things for free. 

I like the insinuation that rohit somehow prevented our bowlers from taking a single wicket, lol

Edited by New guy
30 minutes ago, Rantzz said:

Tough away series and conveniently injured. Like I said he is not fit enough to be india captain no pun intended.

he carries excess weight and is generally in bad shape for modern cricketer. 

with Virat, unless he was rested, he was usually available. Very fit and the continuity is important when captain

Hates legends like Sachin, hates rohit now that he is coming into form and is captain

Suddenly supporting kohli after he has lost form

Hmm

1 hour ago, BlueBlood said:

This is done on purpose by Rohit to spite Kohli.

Good luck with this much vitriol and politics to Indian cricket.

Ganguly and Shah are proving to be pathetic administrators.

If they cannot control Rohit vs Kohli rivalry very soon, then we are looking at more world cup exits.

Now Rohits underperformance in T20 worldcup also looks suspect. Might have done it on purpose to spite Kohli and get Kohli to lose 50 over captaincy too.

There was no way Kohli could retain ODI captaincy after losing to Pakistan in a WC with 10 wickets. Even Dhoni would have been sacked with such a performance.

I hate Rohit Sharma and his antics as its ruining team India. I guess we can expect Kohli to underperform in ODIs now to spite Rohit.

And stupid fans in this forum cheer for Rohit like he is some genius when he has created a rift in the team that looks like will only end after both rohit and kohli get dropped or retire.

So you saying Rohit intentionally performed poorly against Pakistan? That delivery from Shaheen Afridi was a gem which Rohit had no clue. He would get out everytime on that ball.

3 hours ago, sandeep said:

I don't think its unfair to Shaw, ultimately you have to put consistent, big runs on the board to get selected.

Considering our MO selections the last two years, I laughed my ass off when I read this.