I don't need to prove anything to anyone: Kohli

'I don’t look at myself through the lens that the outside world sees me.'

the 33-year-old said it is not the first time his place has been under scrutiny.

"It has happened a few times in my career. England in 2014 was one of those. But I don’t look at myself through the lens that the outside world sees me," Kohli told reporters on Monday.

"The standards we are talking about today have been set by myself. In sport, sometimes things do not go the way you want them to.

But I have been part of important (batting) partnerships when the team has needed me.

"Those moments have been crucial for us in many test matches. If you are always going to judge yourself on the basis of numbers and milestones, you will never be content.

"I am at peace with how I am playing and what I am able to do for the team when there is a tricky scenario. I have nothing else to worry about. I don't need to prove anything to anyone."

https://www.rediff.com/cricket/report/i-dont-need-to-prove-anything-to-anyone-kohli-sa-tour-wtc/20220110.htm

ZERO self reflection, zero accountability yet so full of himself and then to have the gall to say I have made critical contributions! Not even an acknowledgment that he may need to work on technical deficiencies or cut down specific shots

With this arrogant attitude, safe to say there are minimal chances this guy will be able to comeback to his old self. 

No wonder Rahane and Pujara feel they've been doing well too. They take cues from their so called GOAT captain.

17 minutes ago, Chakdephatte said:

A slap on the face of those who believed he has a final peak left. Worst attitude you can have as a sportsperson. His ending will be uglier than Pontings.

Ponting lead his team to a WC win!! Or two?

Ponting coaches an IPL side. With this kind of boorish behaviour, Kohli will be left with next to no friends in the cricket fraternity post retirement.

Edited by Mariyam
17 minutes ago, Chakdephatte said:

A slap on the face of those who believed he has a final peak left. Worst attitude you can have as a sportsperson. His ending will be uglier than Pontings.

echoed the words I was about to write... I only wish India wins and this bozo to get out in the ugliest fashion although I would be happy if he replaces one of Rahane/Pujara instead of Vihari

He is 100% right, he does not have to prove himself on day to day basis.He is not an idiot, he knows he has to do more but if he says that media will take it and run away with it and spin it in completely different way.He is not he first batsman to go thru a lull in a career.Every batsman from Sachin to Sunil have gone thru lulls.Last test showed how important he is just as a captain to this side.

Edited by putrevus
12 minutes ago, express bowling said:

The question is NOT about proving anything to anyone.

The question is " Whether a person is able to currently perform as per the requirements of his or her job "

When will Indian cricketers understand this !!

It is a job they are doing.

Indian cricket at the moment has reached the highs that can't be scaled anymore ie it has become EPIC Meme material under his GOAT(y muh me aa gaya) leadership

Edited by Suhaan

I don’t mind criticism with humour but this place is turning into a rona-dhona forum. Even the match threads are like complain boxes magnets. Not surprised since many who post here are students and 9 to 5 employees in regular jobs but need a new batch of funny and sporting posters to elevate the discussions. 

Kohli will be just fine, he does not need to hear noises from haters.You don't score 70 plus international 100s by accident.he does not need to prove anything to any idiot.His captaincy itself is most important for this team.

Edited by putrevus
28 minutes ago, Suhaan said:

Yeah he doesn't need to prove anymore how worthless as a playaa,

kaptaan he has been

From 36 all out to 10 wicket surrender to ever pathetic poyzz are the gems to his crown which no intruder can get his hands on

Bhai ,I wish the morden Clive Lloyd KL Rahul  would anoint as a permanent captain.Team India will reach the greatest height :aha:

2 hours ago, Mariyam said:

" I don't have to prove anything to anyone" :rolleyes:

This is the second most West Delhi thing to say after "Jaanta hai mera baap kaun hai?".

Even getting married way above his league hasn't changed Kohli.

Maybe irrelevant but I want to correct you here. He didn't marry anyone above his league. He is among 1% achievers in sports, Anushka, not among top 10% of Bollywood.

Or is it that Bollywood is above everything. This is not true, In India, cricket is ultimate, then Modis and Pappus, and then Bollywood-Tollywood.