India VS SA World Test Championship 1st Test Vizag

Moochad

6 hours ago, Forward Defence said:

Lyon and Ashwin have been the only world class offspinners in cricket for quite a while now. Moeen Ali comes up with the occasional good performance. The next best is probably Mohammed Nabi though his test career is over now. Dilruwan Perera looked pretty average against us and Mehedi Miraz does well only on rank turners. Will Sommerville from New Zealand has done well in the few matches he has played but he is 35. Dane Piedt looked pretty harmless yesterday. Immediate future of Offspin looks very bleak.

That's because Simon harmer is busy playing county cricket instead of playing this tour. He is quality. 

8 hours ago, rkt.india said:

Arey bhai Abhi to Southwest monsoon hi chal Raha hai. It has become the longest recorded monsoon in history. But yes, test at Vizag at this time of the year is pure idiocy.

SW monsoon generally ends by mid-September, this is an outlier. Glad you agree this scheduling is idiocy. 

8 hours ago, rkt.india said:

Even Indore, Lucknow, Vadodara are seeing rains. VH trophy games got washed-out in Vadodara. Eastern UP is flooded. India has seen the highest rainfall since 1994. Wettest September in history.

We can only prepare for syllabus, out of syllabus aa gaya toh kya karein? Indore, Vadodara etc shouldn't see much rain during this month, normally doesn't happen. 

Damn, looks like the Saffers threw in the towel already! The pitch is acting up on day 2 itself. I guess we are lucky to have batted first. 

10 hours ago, nevada said:

" A lazy shot from Kohli, really. In front of his body and flicking against the turn without getting in line. "

Hoping to see Shastri criticize Kohli heavily for poor shot selection.

That would be like a Reliance employee criticising Mukesh Ambani!

Is it just me, or has Ashwin developed a slightly longer and straighter run-up? He's almost bowling quicker one as stock delivery with classically flighted off-break as variation...if he just kept bowling it like that ball on which he got Makram, he would be almost unplayable in our conditions and much more effective abroad too. :facepalm:  

6 minutes ago, Cricwala said:

Is it just me, or has Ashwin developed a slightly longer and straighter run-up? He's almost bowling quicker one as stock delivery with classically flighted off-break as variation...if he just kept bowling it like that ball on which he got Makram, he would be almost unplayable in our conditions and much more effective abroad too. :facepalm:  

one thing i noticed he has been bowling a lot of carrom ball offlately 

He keeps working on new things, he came back from a county season and players use this time to work on certain aspects 

5 minutes ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

one thing i noticed he has been bowling a lot of carrom ball offlately 

He keeps working on new things, he came back from a county season and players use this time to work on certain aspects 

he overthinks....yes, all players have to re-invent their game at some stage, but u do that when the old way is not working anymore or u are forced by injury. In Ashwin's case, he seems to have a hyperactive mind, and being dropped from LOIs for wrist spinners has made him obsessed with taking ball away from right hand batsmen and variations/mystery balls.

"Flight, loop, drift, turn" - he should chant this mantra day and night to keep other thoughts away!

3 hours ago, GeeGaw said:

Is there any way to watch this in USA?  I have a Willow subscription but they are not showing this series. 

I think hotstar subscription is an inevitability, I'm in the same boat.

6 hours ago, nevada said:

Damn, looks like the Saffers threw in the towel already! The pitch is acting up on day 2 itself. I guess we are lucky to have batted first. 

I think Hitman made it look extremely easy and also guided young Mayank and gave him the confidence.