Ankit_sharma03 Posted September 26, 2019 Posted September 26, 2019 53 minutes ago, Vilander said: Saha is an extremely good wicket keeper Malum hai
zaqw222222 Posted September 26, 2019 Posted September 26, 2019 I think Pant will play all the 3 test matches. Ravi Shastri had an interview with HT in which they have mentioned that team management will back Pant. Link : https://www.hindustantimes.com/cricket/rishabh-pant-is-special-will-back-him-to-the-hilt-ravi-shastri-exclusive/story-xgl6Gn9heH5tqg5jvhpZ4N.html
adi B Posted September 27, 2019 Posted September 27, 2019 Is this true ? As dumb as this current TM is ,they cant go this dumb! I like saha but pant deserves to be in the playing 11 even if he fails in a couple of series Mosher, Suhaan and sandsaims 3
Forever Indian Posted September 27, 2019 Posted September 27, 2019 1 hour ago, adi B said: Is this true ? As dumb as this current TM is ,they cant go this dumb! I like saha but pant deserves to be in the playing 11 even if he fails in a couple of series Nothing is impossible with this TM. Did you ever imagine in your wildest dream that Rohit will be our opener in tests? .... well, they made it possible adi B, raki05, beetle and 3 others 4 2
New guy Posted September 27, 2019 Posted September 27, 2019 17 hours ago, Vilander said: Saha is an extremely good wicket keeper Pant had two similar catches in the last test match he played Tibarn 1
maniac Posted September 27, 2019 Posted September 27, 2019 (edited) While I clearly see a pattern emerging with the way Pant is being handled, got to feel for Saha as well. He was India's no.1 keeper. Did nothing wrong, Was hailed as one of our best keepers ever and then he gets injured and then injury get's mishandled and all of a sudden he is no where in the reckoning. I think Pant with his batting has obviously over taken Saha but as a pure keeper Saha is better, so that kind of evens out. Edited September 27, 2019 by maniac nevada 1
maniac Posted September 27, 2019 Posted September 27, 2019 5 hours ago, Forever Indian said: Nothing is impossible with this TM. Did you ever imagine in your wildest dream that Rohit will be our opener in tests? .... well, they made it possible :) Forever Indian, Jimmy Cliff and Mosher 3
Tibarn Posted September 27, 2019 Posted September 27, 2019 If Saha beats Pant out in the nets, then why not? Saha is a better keeper, but Pant seems to be a better Batsman. In India, we have both Ashwin and Jaddu likely to play; that's basically 2 allrounders in Indian conditions. Our tail would only be 2 long, whoever the two pacers are. Arguably we get more value from Saha's keeping than Pant's superior batting. Moochad, Vilander and New guy 2 1
rkt.india Posted September 27, 2019 Posted September 27, 2019 Retirement for Pant before Dhoni beckons. beetle and Cricketics 1 1
rkt.india Posted September 27, 2019 Posted September 27, 2019 1 hour ago, maniac said: While I clearly see a pattern emerging with the way Pant is being handled, got to feel for Saha as well. He was India's no.1 keeper. Did nothing wrong, Was hailed as one of our best keepers ever and then he gets injured and then injury get's mishandled and all of a sudden he is no where in the reckoning. I think Pant with his batting has obviously over taken Saha but as a pure keeper Saha is better, so that kind of evens out. Saha is going to turn 35 in October. His selection is a step backwards. Bringing back Saha is an apt example of conservative thinking of our captain. He wants ready-made players which never happens. I would have liked Bharat as 2nd wk. Also, looking at Saga's fitness history, he has been injured too many times mid series. beetle 1
ShoonyaSifar Posted September 27, 2019 Author Posted September 27, 2019 14 hours ago, zaqw222222 said: I think Pant will play all the 3 test matches. Ravi Shastri had an interview with HT in which they have mentioned that team management will back Pant. Link : https://www.hindustantimes.com/cricket/rishabh-pant-is-special-will-back-him-to-the-hilt-ravi-shastri-exclusive/story-xgl6Gn9heH5tqg5jvhpZ4N.html Like they backed Rayudu for the number 4 slot in the WC? This TM is great at such talk but does exact reverse. beetle 1
Forever Indian Posted September 27, 2019 Posted September 27, 2019 1 hour ago, maniac said: :) It would have been your wildest dream come true
rtmohanlal Posted September 28, 2019 Posted September 28, 2019 every thing is possible with this TM, even some thing we can't even imagine in our wildest dreams. So need not be surprised if Pant after averaging 45 with 2 abroad 100s get dropped. Any way there have been 2 extremes ,namely playing T20s as practice matches for ENG tests & playing T20 hack Kartick to do the role of Dravid in an all important world cup semi.So ,if proclaiming Rayudu as no:4 for world cups only to drop him just before the start was only a hat trick chance, let this be the hat trick.
jf1gp_1 Posted September 28, 2019 Posted September 28, 2019 I am actually conflicted on this one. We could easily walk away with 100 points. With both jaddu and ashwin expected to return i dont think we will miss pant the batsman but then if we dont play him then how do we expect him to get better against spinners.
vvvslaxman Posted September 28, 2019 Posted September 28, 2019 I very much doubt that would be the case. Pant's Test performances should not be judged based on his failures in shorter formats. There is a lot of energy about him. beetle 1
New guy Posted September 28, 2019 Posted September 28, 2019 (edited) 20 hours ago, Tibarn said: If Saha beats Pant out in the nets, then why not? Saha is a better keeper, but Pant seems to be a better Batsman. In India, we have both Ashwin and Jaddu likely to play; that's basically 2 allrounders in Indian conditions. Our tail would only be 2 long, whoever the two pacers are. Arguably we get more value from Saha's keeping than Pant's superior batting. Let's use the same standards for everyone shall we? If kohli and rohit get beaten by other batsmen in nets drop them too I love how some people here are even more short sighted than team management Edited September 28, 2019 by New guy beetle and Tibarn 1 1
Tibarn Posted September 28, 2019 Posted September 28, 2019 (edited) 1 hour ago, New guy said: Let's use the same standards for everyone shall we? This is called a false equivalency. Kohli is one of the handful of best batsmen in the world in the Test format. Pant is a relatively new player who has shown potential in the format, particularly with the bat, but he has a legitimate competitor for the same playing position to him in the short term: Saha. Rohit is pretty much a non-entity and under-performer in Tests for his whole career, but seems to be a favorite of the current selection committee. What kind of logic is it to judge Kohli by the same standard to the latter two. Quote If kohli and rohit get beaten by other batsmen in nets drop them too If Rohit is outperformed in the nets by both Gill and Agarwal, why shouldn't the latter two play over him? None of the 3 opening options are well established in the format. None of the 3 really walk into the side based on past performances Let me guess, you want to arbitrarily pick which two of the three to play based on who you like more... 1 hour ago, New guy said: I love how some people here are even more short sighted than team management I like people try to justify their newfound fanboyism for one player by projecting it as some great forward-thinking plan. The mere mention of the possibility of another player having a legitimate case for being the playing XI over their new object of obsession invokes such fury. Just because some of you guys found a new player to be obsessed over, doesn't mean that all challengers for that one spot in the side are permanently put on the back-burner. There are perfectly sensible reasons for Saha to get consideration over Pant for the SA Test series. If team management decides that Saha, who was the first-choice keeper before he got injured, should play, he will play. If Saha disappoints, then feel free to jump on his selection to your heart's content and talk about how moronic "Bevada" and "Rat" were. PSA to Pant-fanboys: kindly spare me your fanboy-rage and engage me when you can think objectively about players and tell me why Saha shouldn't even be considered for a spot in the playing XI. I'm not interested in unnecessarily having to criticize Pant, who I think has the potential to be an all format, first-choice keeper for India. Edited September 28, 2019 by Tibarn New guy, Moochad, retired_hurt and 2 others 1 1 1 1 1
rtmohanlal Posted September 29, 2019 Posted September 29, 2019 yet to buy on this news, but if this happens this has to be the dumbest of the lot moves by this TM. A youngster of only 21 with such a 'great test record start in every sense ' can serve for lots of years. To replace him with a mediocre Saha with a mere avg: of 30.63 and almost of age 35 is dumb ass ness of epic proportions. tweaker, sandsaims and New guy 3
New guy Posted September 29, 2019 Posted September 29, 2019 (edited) 17 hours ago, Tibarn said: This is called a false equivalency. Kohli is one of the handful of best batsmen in the world in the Test format. Pant is a relatively new player who has shown potential in the format, particularly with the bat, but he has a legitimate competitor for the same playing position to him in the short term: Saha. Rohit is pretty much a non-entity and under-performer in Tests for his whole career, but seems to be a favorite of the current selection committee. What kind of logic is it to judge Kohli by the same standard to the latter two. If Rohit is outperformed in the nets by both Gill and Agarwal, why shouldn't the latter two play over him? None of the 3 opening options are well established in the format. None of the 3 really walk into the side based on past performances Let me guess, you want to arbitrarily pick which two of the three to play based on who you like more... I like people try to justify their newfound fanboyism for one player by projecting it as some great forward-thinking plan. The mere mention of the possibility of another player having a legitimate case for being the playing XI over their new object of obsession invokes such fury. Just because some of you guys found a new player to be obsessed over, doesn't mean that all challengers for that one spot in the side are permanently put on the back-burner. There are perfectly sensible reasons for Saha to get consideration over Pant for the SA Test series. If team management decides that Saha, who was the first-choice keeper before he got injured, should play, he will play. If Saha disappoints, then feel free to jump on his selection to your heart's content and talk about how moronic "Bevada" and "Rat" were. PSA to Pant-fanboys: kindly spare me your fanboy-rage and engage me when you can think objectively about players and tell me why Saha shouldn't even be considered for a spot in the playing XI. I'm not interested in unnecessarily having to criticize Pant, who I think has the potential to be an all format, first-choice keeper for India. You have no idea what pant has achieved in tests do you? Laxman has 0 100s in England in his entire career. Dravid and schwag have 1 in Australia in their entire career. Pant already has 1 each in both countries in his first tours there. So yes, if you were objective you would be laughing along with us at the suggestion of replacing him. Not to mention his keeping is almost impeccable now. But instead of sticking with this immensely talented guy your suggestion is drop him for no reason. which is what other countries do with their amazing talents? Now we laugh at pak fans but look at how they supported Amir even when he fixed and was jailed. On the other hand Indian fans love their oldies for some reason and its their young talents they target instead of supporting Edited September 29, 2019 by New guy Tibarn and sandsaims 1 1
Trichromatic Posted September 29, 2019 Posted September 29, 2019 Marketing is working overtime to ensure that narrative is built completely. Suhaan, saik, TheWall and 3 others 3 2 1