Thoughts on Laxman as next coach?

Poll  

16 members have voted

1. 1. Impressed with Laxman's coaching thus far?

2. 2. Do you want to see Laxman as head coach (provided he is willing)?

• Yes, in all formats
    • No, continue with Gambhir
    • Yes, as test coach
    • Yes, as ODI and T20I coach
    • Just ODI or T20I coach, one of these two

Gambhir may not be good in team selection or stretegy wise. But no-nonsense attitude, being serious about the game are his good points. He was successful with kkr.

I don't like bhajji for what he did for the ad with reference to sreesanth. If you want to have the most dislikeable team, i guess you should have bhajji as coach.

Vvs can be good coach in tests. But maybe not in T20s.

1 minute ago, SecondSlip said:

@Gollum

I would love a foreign coach like Michael Hussey or David Hussey. 

Even I am in favor of foreign coaches. 

If foreign coaches can produce results with our hockey, badminton, wrestling, javelin, TT players, why not cricket? BCCI should stop being so adamant. Hire the best people, we all know BCCI can afford the best there is. 

33 minutes ago, randomGuy said:

He was successful with kkr.

He was not their head coach though. Just a "mentor" or something.

Being serious is one thing, but if you can't get buy-in from the players, it's of no use.

3 hours ago, Mariyam said:

You tagged all of ICF but not me.

:heartbreak:

Its like that time when one of your closest friends doesn’t invite you to a party.

On asking her later she cites one of the following reasons:

Oh but the theme would not be to your liking.

Oh but there were people I invited who you aren’t on good terms with.

I thought you were travelling/your daughter had exams.

The food would not be to your liking

You are family do you even need an invite?

Well that is better than the Rambo definition of expendable.

"If someone invites you to a party and you don't show up....... doesn't really matter"

6 hours ago, Gollum said:

BCCI should stop being so adamant. Hire the best people, we all know BCCI can afford the best there is.

BCCI has had foreign coaches like John Wright, Gary Kirsten and <drumroll> Greg Chappell.

7 hours ago, AKane said:

Well that is better than the Rambo definition of expendable.

"If someone invites you to a party and you don't show up....... doesn't really matter"

I am working under the assumption that I’m tad more fun at these events than the one grimace expression Rambo.

10 hours ago, BacktoCricaddict said:

He was not their head coach though. Just a "mentor" or something.

Being serious is one thing, but if you can't get buy-in from the players, it's of no use.

Vvs has given some great memories!! His exquisite timing.

His last wicket partnership with ojha gave all kinds of emotions from heart in the mouth, to laughing my ass off at running between the wickets with ojha, to  letting out a few expletives out of tension of the match situation , to getting pumped up after the win...:cantstop::hatsoff:

On 7/27/2026 at 10:37 PM, Gollum said:

Since BCCI will go with their <60 years requirement and preference for Indian head coaches, what does this forum think of Laxman? Based on the 3-4 series he has taken charge? 

I know he said no to the job offer in 2024, but who knows, he may be open to contributing more in some capacity in the future?

I didn't follow the Zim series closely but he seemed to be backing genuine quicks (a frequent criticism was him being a trundler lover). @express bowling @Mosher @cricspirit @singhvivek141 @tapandrun @New guy @Lone Wolf @rollingstoned @vishalvirsingh  @Manucrick @rkt.india @SecondSlip @Sgattick10 @Need4Speed @tweaker etc. are more active in the performance tracker thread for quicks. They can chime in. Encouraging signs?

I think he will be a good man-manager, very calm and approachable, chill guy like Dravid. But also someone who can command respect in the dressing room. Players seem to be more relaxed when he is head coach, even in the RSA T20I series 2 years back they were all enjoying the game. Maybe Indian team needs a good man-manager as head coach instead of some tactical guru. He can always have the best data analysts and assistant coaches to help him out. 

Personally think he should be made test coach asap if he is willing. GG's reign has been a complete disaster for our test team, with his ego clashes, nonsensical AR obsession and selection, penchant for rank turners at home, uncertainty in the team and batting order which has affected the mindset of mavericks like Jaiswal and Pant. Laxman can really help with our batsmen's mentality, especially in 4th innings and 'back against the wall' situations....he himself was a master at absorbing pressue and clutching it out. 

Test cricket hasn't really changed much over the years, fundamentals are the same and you need to do the basics consistently and persistently, be patient, (bowlers) hit the same areas whole day, hold on to catches, no silly run-outs etc. Need more tactical minds in white ball setups, with the fast evolving and dynamic nature of those formats. Maybe let GG continue for a while there, and if he continues his nonsense, go with a coach who is up to date with the rigors of modern white ball. I would love for someone like Andy Flower to take up the job, BCCI can make him an offer he can't refuse, and since only 2 formats, he will get more vacation time which goras demand when it comes to taking up assignments in SC @Nikhil_cric @vvvslaxman @Vickydev @putrevus @maniac @Laaloo @Trichromatic @zen @Lord @Adamant @nevada @govinda @BacktoCricaddict @AKane @Frustrated @Tillu @Norman @nitinbwj @Stan AF @Chaos @Nikola @coffee_rules @rageaddict @Vk1 @wanted_desi @Bigg Brother @JaFanatic @LordPrabhzy @Austin 3:!6

Also test team takes time to build. Need stability there, lots of patience with the players, give them designated roles and back them. Not BS like Sundar batting at #3 in one test, #9 in the next one, 40 overs here, then no bowling for next 2 innings. Roles have to be clear. RSA has done precisely that under Shukri/Bavuma and gone from irrelevance to world's best team. 

PS: Eager to hear the views of most active ICFers whose cricket related posts I follow here, hence tagged many (missed out a few I'm sure). I don't know about you guys but GG is making me lose interest in Indian cricket. Taking me back to the 2011-14 days. In fact even worse because at least in 2011-14 a young core was being developed by Dhoni/Fletcher (players like Kohli, Ashwin, Pujara, Rahane used to hold Fletcher in high regard much after his exit). Here all I see is youngsters being made to feel more insecure, GG's strong dislikes and prejudice against some of our players, negativity and ego tussles. Don't think players are in a relaxed space (SKY was the buffer at least in T20Is until now), and so much insecurity regarding their selection/future, koi bhi kisi bhi waqt baahar ho jaata hai, loses captaincy or VC, shunned or scolded (like Pant), every series there is a new scapegoat. 

well..I feel he is not a dominant person like GG.. so team will find it easy around him..However, I think he is better in technical aspects..so better for NCA type role or grooming younger,India A players..or interim assignments..like he did against Zimbabwe.. 

I dont think he is any breath of fresh air..so will have same old and traditional mindset if he becomes a full time coach..basically wont be a risk taker..

@Gollum bhai  laxman is good for short term but i feel our 90s cricketers(sachin, dravid, gangu, kumble, srinath and vvs) are gentleman but lack killer instant with meek personality. So would prefer someone foreign like moody or Fleming. Also Foreign coach prefer out and out fast bowlers rather then trundlers so as fast bowling fan prefer foreign coach

Edited by govinda
9 hours ago, govinda said:

@Gollum bhai  laxman is good for short term but i feel our 90s cricketers(sachin, dravid, gangu, kumble, srinath and vvs) are gentleman but lack killer instant with meek personality. So would prefer someone foreign like moody or Fleming. Also Foreign coach prefer out and out fast bowlers rather then trundlers so as fast bowling fan prefer foreign coach

Kumble was not meek, infact that was one of the reason he and Kohli had clash and he got booted out. If only Indian coaches are options then I would be tempted to give Kumble another go, as we did well under his short stint!

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/cricket/40347623

Kumble said Kohli had "reservations", external about his coaching style.

Kumble said the Board of Control for Cricket in India had "attempted to resolve the misunderstandings", but he decided it was "best to move on".

During his time in charge, India won 12 and lost only 1 of the 17 Tests they played, and claimed ODI series wins over New Zealand and England.

Edited by Forever Indian
On 7/29/2026 at 1:21 AM, randomGuy said:

Vvs has given some great memories!! His exquisite timing.

His last wicket partnership with ojha gave all kinds of emotions from heart in the mouth, to laughing my ass off at running between the wickets with ojha, to  letting out a few expletives out of tension of the match situation , to getting pumped up after the win...:cantstop::hatsoff:

Only time I saw him angry

Delhi dudes are confrontational by nature and carry an in your face attitude. Mohinder amarnath called selectors bucnh of jokers.  Generally unfiltered.